Solved: Media Disconnect

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

vlipps

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
4
I have Windows 8 on my Sony Vaio VPCCA22FX. I had problems sharing the wireless router when another computer was already on one of the four channels so I tried to reset the IP address. Found on-line suggestion to go to command prompt and type: IPCONFIG /RELEASE. Then typed IPCONFIG /RENEW. Next time rebooted after install of Google Drive application and no internet. When IPCONFIG /ALL, I find Media Disconnect for all networks,

Saw on this site that I should PING 10.0.01 and all 4 ping transmit failed. General failure.

Any suggestions for what else I should do? I already reinstalled BIOS and driver for Wifi.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
how many computers on the network
can you connect the pc to the router with a cable and see if it works

can we see an xirrus screen shot

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,427
when another computer was already on one of the four channels
Only four channels are allowed in Hawaii? That's pretty surprising to me. Which channels are they?
 

vlipps

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
4
Right now only my iPad is on line. I hooked up a LAN cable to all four ports on the router and always says I don't have a valid IP address. When I go to command prompt I find with IPCONFIG /ALL - media disconnected for all. With cable hooked up the Ethernet has a physical address that is not just zeros.

I'll see about firing up old laptop and downloading suggested program.
 

vlipps

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
4
Installed XIRRUS and really no need to show screen shot because it won't CONNECT to wireless. No blimps on radar and Wireless and Addresses are all N/A.

Whenever I try the Enable/Disable button, I get error code that I need to run as administrator. My user account is set up as Local User Admistrator.

I'm no expert but my network adaptor is turned off and can't figure out how to turn on. The on/off wireless switch is on. When I turnoff the wireless switch , I even get a pop up window telling me that it is off.

Just for the heck of it, I plugged LAN cable back in even though XIRRUS is for wireless and no change in XIRRUS screen but I now have internet through the LAN cable. If you look at network connection screen it still says the the wireless is OFF.
 

vlipps

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
4
Since somehow the LAN was now working, I tried the Sony easy connect program and now my wirless and LAN are both working. No idea what actually fixed it but then not really certain what broke the connection either. Thanks everyone for your assistance.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
1,689
Only four channels are allowed in Hawaii? That's pretty surprising to me. Which channels are they?
I would like to know this as well. I thought that the followed the same rules as we do in the main land.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top