Solved: memory question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mutt21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
8
I just ordered 2 2gig memory sticks for my PC. The PC currently has 4 slots, 2 are empty the other 2 have 1 gig memory sticks in each slot. Should I remove them and put in the new memory or leave them in?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Messages
1,081
If the 1 GB sticks are the same speed as the new ones it won't matter much. If they're a slower speed I'd remove them because they'll slow down the new sticks to whatever speed they are. Mixed RAM will run at the speed of the slowest one. Some people have also had problems running mixed RAM.
 

Oddba11

Jim
It's My Birthday!
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
8,336
Using all 4 slots can also cause the RAM to be run at a slower speed. It varies by the motherboard brand/model.

Although this largely depends on the OS used. If you are running a 32 bit OS, you can only use 4GB anyway.
 

Mutt21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
8
Thanks for the reply. I canm run a total of 8 gigs of memory. The new memory is 800 MHz, the old is 667. I am adding the memory because my PC is slow and hangs a lot. what do you think would be better 6 gig of memory running at 667 or 4 gig at 800?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Messages
1,081
I'd go for 4 at 800. A lot depends on the quality of the RAM you're buying. May I ask what you're getting?
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,055
If your version of Windows is not 64 bit you can only run 4GB of Ram.

If you do have 64 bit you could run all 4 sticks together.

Whichever you do you may have to put the sticks into the correct Ram slots for them to work. Tell us what Motherboard you have and we can check that out.
 

Mutt21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
8
Thanks for the help!! Windows 7 Professional (x64) Service Pack 1 (build 7601)
Install Language: English (United States)
System Locale: English (United States)
Installed: 9/26/2013 8:53:51 AM
Boot Mode: BIOS (Secure Boot not supported)
Hewlett-Packard HP Compaq dc7800p Small Form Factor
System Serial Number: MXL843022L
Asset Tag: MXL843022L
Chassis Serial Number: MXL843022L
Enclosure Type: Low Profile Desktop
Processor a Main Circuit Board b 2.33 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
64 kilobyte primary memory cache
4096 kilobyte secondary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (2 total)
Not hyper-threaded
Board: Hewlett-Packard 0AA8h
Serial Number: MXL843022L
Bus Clock: 1333 megahertz
BIOS: Hewlett-Packard 786F1 v01.04 07/18/2007
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,086
The HP Compaq dc7800p Small Form Factor has 4 memory slots and supports a maximum of 8 GB(2 GB X 4) of RAM.

It uses 240-pin DDR2 PC2-5300(667 MHz) or DDR2 PC2-6400(800 MHz), 1.8 volt, unbuffered, non-ECC modules.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

Mutt21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
8
would I just put the new sticks in the empty slots or shift the old ones around?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,398
Most mb set the ram speed by the first slot ie whatever speed chip you install in slot 1 [sometimes called slot 0] that is what speed is set for all ram chips. I would put your slower ram in the first slots and the faster ram in slots 3/4.
 

Mutt21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
8
so is it safe to assume them old memory is already in slot 1 and 2? Are the slots numbered or do I need a scematic?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,398
Never assume; look. Nothing beats the Mark I eyeball. The slots should be numbered on the board itself; silkscreened on the board. You are dealing with a hp so no guarantees that it is on the board.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top