1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Microsoft Office 2003 Word problem

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by bellisimo, Jul 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bellisimo

bellisimo Thread Starter

I'm having a strange problem with Microsoft Word 2003 SP3.

It only happens on new docs. I'm a writer and when I open ongoing projects in Word everything is fine, but when I open a new doc. my Page Setup doesn't work. If I set it to have 1" of space top, bottom and sides, it doesn't work on the top. My first line starts at the very top of the page.

Also, the ruler up the left side should be dark where that top inch of space should be, but it isn't because it's not working. I discovered a temporary fix in Page Setup by setting the top space to be 2" and the sides and bottom to be 1". However, even doing this I don't get the dark inch or so at the top of my left margin ruler.

I did a repair in ADD Remove Programs but it didn't change anything. It might be a corruption in Word because I have the same Office 2003, SP3 on my laptop and I've compared all the settings on both computers and they appear to be identical.

Has anyone here run into this problem, and do you think uninstalling and reinstalling Office might solve the problem?

Thanks in advance.

2. Sponsor

3. EAFiedler

EAFiedler Moderator

Hi bellisimo

With Word 2003 closed, do a Search for Normal.dot and rename it Normal.dot.old

Start Word 2003, Word will create a new Normal.dot file.

Let us know if that makes a difference or not.

4. bellisimo

bellisimo Thread Starter

Thanks EAFiedler,