1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Microsoft Office Word 2003 question

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bellisimo, Jan 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bellisimo

bellisimo Thread Starter

Just recently something has changed with my Microsoft Office Word 2003 app.

I'm a writer and I have always been able to drag my pages that I have written today to a folder in My Documents and the same file would stay on my desktop for immediate access later. I realize other may not work this way but it is how I prefer to work as it has become my habit :)

When I try to drag and drop it now, it drops into the My Documents folder but it no longer remains on the desktop.

Now, in conjunction with this problem, I have another new problem, which is that when I write a page of text in Word and save it to a My Documents folder it doesn't go there. Also when I save a picture to My Pictures as I've always done it won't be there when I look for it. Something is preventing me from saving things and I haven't a clue what it is. I have to open the My Documents folder and drag the Word text page into it. It's the only way I can save stuff for some reason.

Can someone please tell me how I can fix this problem?

Thank you in advance.

2. ChuckE

ChuckE

The default action when dragging files around a hard drive is that it will move the file. If you try to drag a file from one hard drive to another (or any two different mediae) then the default action will be the file will copy. That's just the way Windows has been for years.

You can always override the default action by holding down one of two keys when dragging:
    If you hold down the SHIFT key the forced action will be to move the file.