1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Microsoft "Office" XP Professional with Front Page/I only want to install EXCEL

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by hotskates, May 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hotskates

hotskates Thread Starter

I have Windows XP "Home Edition" on my computer now, and I need to learn EXCEL (because I'm using it at work and I have never used it before), so my boss sent me home with the disk from the computer at work which is the entire WIndows XP Professional with Front Page. How can I just install Excel off of that disk? I don't want to install the whole thing because I don't need it. Is this possible?

If it isn't possible, then can I install the whole "Professional edition" and keep it separate from my home computer software (home edition), possibly under another user account or something like that?

2. EAFiedler

EAFiedler Moderator

Hi hotskates

It should give you the option of a Typical, Custom or Advanced installation.

Windows XP Home Edition is referring to the Operating System.
    Office XP Professional is referring to the Office suite itself.
    Office XP Professional should include: Excel 2002, Word 2002, Outlook 2002, Access 2002 and PowerPoint 2002.

What does the Disk actually say?

3. HandleX

HandleX

Choose - "Custom" and then just UNcheck everyone you do not want installed ;)

4. hotskates

hotskates Thread Starter

Hi EAFielder........There are 3 disks that he gave me:
    1. Office XP "Professional with Front Page" - version 2002, Enterprise, Disc 1
    2. " " " " " " " Media content, Disk 2
    3. " " " " " " " Step by Step,Interactive Training - Enterprise, Disk 3

5. hotskates

hotskates Thread Starter

So then, Excel would work ok with my WINDOWS Home edition?