1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Microsoft Security Essentials Is RED RED RED

Discussion in 'General Security' started by Canan, Apr 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Canan

    Canan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    Security Essentials found something and has quarantined it. Ok this is great but it sayes to remove this software immediately. So I did it. This quarantined file had the words "Windows OneCare Backup" . So I removed everything that said Windows OneCare BackupDon't. Months ago (maybe a year) I thought I uninstalled it.
    Now I cant run Microsoft Security Essentials. I have tryed to uninstall it and got an error code: 0x004ff01.
    I think I removed all AV and tryed to update and got a code 0x80070422.
    I have NO Virus protection at this time and really need some help.:mad:


    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 2.00GHz, x86 Family 6 Model 13 Stepping 8
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 1015 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 915GM/GMS,910GML Express Chipset Family, 128 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 57231 MB, Free - 41242 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0D4571
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Disabled
     
  2. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
    i had that problem weds after i got a microsoft update for MSE 4.0.1526 , with a error of 0x80070003. i had to use revo uninstaller to get it out of the system. i tried 2 times to reinstall it bit it didn't work. so i installed avira antivirus program. it is lite weight and seems to work fine.
     
  3. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,701
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,226
  5. Canan

    Canan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    Thank you golferbob, TOGG and lunarlander for you suggestions.

    This is were I'm at right now: Cleaned out all AV from my PC.

    Tryed to reinstall MSE here is what happened: Error "Windows Installer, The feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable. Click OK to try again, or enter an alternate path to a folder containing the installation package 'epp.msi' in the box below".
    I have tryed looking for this epp.msi and I can't find it. So I click Cancel.

    Now the MSE window comes up: Error "Cannot complete the MSE installation, An error has prevented the MSE setup wizard from completing successfully. Please restart your computer and try again". With an error code: 0x8007064C.

    I fell like I'm going in circles, but I will keep trying.

    I will be looking up the error code and follow the instruction, hope it cleans thing up.

    If any of you have a suggestion please let me know it.

    Thanks again for your help so far.

    I had been working with someone from Microsoft but they are now off work for a few day and I'm still in the RED.
     
  6. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
    that is what i had early in the week. i gave up and had to use revo uninstaller at the highest level to uninstall as windows add/remove program would not work to uninstall. so far avira antivirus is working fine ,lite weight as the computer is running as fast as with MSE. LOL.
     
  7. Canan

    Canan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    Does Avira AV work well with Super AntiSpyware and Malwarebytes Ant-Malware?
     
  8. Canan

    Canan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    I should have asked is it free and how do I find it for my PC Windows XP SP3?
     
  9. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
  10. Canan

    Canan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    I'll give these a try and let you know how it works for me.
    Thanks for you help.
     
  11. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
    i have used MSE for a few years and have had good luck with it till this week. i have told many people how good and lite weight it is ,but i did that with AVG for many years also. LOL
     
  12. Canan

    Canan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    My internet went down in the middle of loading AVG. Internet just came back up and I will load AVG again. I'll let you know what I think of it.
     
  13. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,896
    lol with AVG , in the last year or so it got too much stuff with it.it slowed my system way down. as i said i use AVG for many years. i like a fast system that is why i went with MSE and now avira.
     
  14. Canan

    Canan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    AVG is now up loaded and it looks easy. Just would like to know if you did any changes on the setup of it or did you keep this in default?
    I also have used MSE for a few years, but when, what ever happened to it, it happend real good (BAD). I tryed a lot of suggestions to fix it for about 3 day. I wanted my PC back and not having to wonder if I was going to get attacked (Virus and such).
    So I gave in and changed my protection.
    What does that Comobo do?
     
  15. Canan

    Canan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    161
    Sorry I should have said Avira is uploaded.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1050908