1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Microsoft Service Pack 2.0 Pack 2 and 3.0 pack 3

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by seattlesandy, Sep 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. seattlesandy

seattlesandy Thread Starter

Hi, this is my first time using this. I have in my Control Panel Microsoft.Net Framework 1.1 , Microsoft.Net Framework 2.0 Service Pack 2 and 3.0 Service Pack 3. Do I need all of these or can I delete one the free up some memory. OS Version is Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3,32 bit.
    Thanks,
    Jill

2. leroys1000

leroys1000 Banned

All that stuff is pretty much necessary.

3. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    Jill:

Microsoft NET Framework 1.1 and 2.0 appear to be the most popular and required versions for some programs and drivers to install and work.

If you also have versions 3.0 and 3.5 installed, leave them alone and don't uninstall them.

If you're prompted at the Windows Updates site to download and install version 4.0, decline to do so.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Open MY COMPUTER, right-click the hard drive icon, then click Properties.

What's listed for the capacity, free space, and used space?

Assuming the computer that you're discussing is the Dell that's described in your "computer specifications" information, look at the sticker on it and then advise what the 7-character service tag number is.

4. seattlesandy