1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Microsoft.WindowsSecurityCenter.AntiVirusOverride

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by opacity666, Feb 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. opacity666

    opacity666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Hi
    Can anyone help me please? I've used Spybot and Ad Aware but cannot get rid of "Microsoft.WindowsSecurityCenter.AntiVirusOverride"
    Kind regards.
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    83,940
    Hi and welcome to TSG :)

    These are just warnings that the Security Center alerts that would normally warn you if your anti-virus and firewall have been turned off or disabled for any reason, have been unchecked so that they do not warn you.

    If you chose not to be alerted and turned those things off in the Security Center intentionally, then you can have SpyBot put these on Ignore.
    Otherwise, something or someone has changed those settings and that should be investigated further.

    You will find them under the Security Center in the Control Panel.
    On the left-hand side, you will see five options.
    Click on the last one "Change The Way Security Center Alerts Me" and you will find three choices there.
    If there are no check marks in the boxes, that means that the alerts have been turned off.
     
  3. opacity666

    opacity666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    thankyou :) :)
     
  4. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    83,940
  5. mr techni

    mr techni

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    i had the same problem with spybot search and destroy
    and if it wasnt for going to http://majorgeeks.com
    i had it explained that it is well known that spybot throws up these false reading i dont know why but it does.
    Also they advised me NOT To USE Tea time as it uses up all the cpu (y)
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/545918