1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Microsoft Word creates a new document but opens existing text

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by fanny pack 2.0, Feb 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fanny pack 2.0

    fanny pack 2.0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    The weirdest thing is going on here at work. When you open a brand new page (blank page) with microsoft word, it opens with the same 3 paragraphs of a document that we copied from a website to work with (however we never saved this as a document) Now everytime we go to open a blank document the same 3 paragraphs open with it and won't seem to go away.

    I tried a detect and repair, reinstalling Office and even deleting all temp files but it still pops up, has anyone seen this before or know how to put a stop to it? I would greatly appreciate any help!
     
  2. jimr381

    jimr381

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,189
    First Name:
    Jim
    I got two fixes for you.

    If you have saved Autotext, Autocorrect entries then you will want to save the new document as a file on your system. Then search for your normal.dot and delete it. You will then rename the file you saved previously as normal.dot and place it where the old normal.dot was.

    If you do not care about the normal.dot just delete it and open up Word again so it will recreate it.
     
  3. fanny pack 2.0

    fanny pack 2.0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    i searched the computer and didn't find a normal.dot file anywhere
     
  4. jimr381

    jimr381

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,189
    First Name:
    Jim
    What version of word are using? Do you have windows searching through hidden files and folders as well? Check under "Tools">>"Folder Options" while browsing through a folder. Sorry that this is succint, but I am trying to get out of the office.
     
  5. fanny pack 2.0

    fanny pack 2.0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Jimr you're a genius sir. I truly appreciate all of your help!!! I thank you sir
     
  6. jimr381

    jimr381

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,189
    First Name:
    Jim
    Not a problem. Could you please mark the thread as solved via the "Thread Tools" drop-down list at the top of the post?
     
  7. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Oh, gag.... (y) :D
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/685618

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice