1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Microsoft Word keeps throwing up "Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library" Error, Arghh!

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Mike82, Feb 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mike82

    Mike82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Hi guys, first off I haven't been here for help in years literally this was the first place I thought of because a few years ago many generous people helped me solve my problem, this place is awesome. Please pardon me as I am only decently literate with computers but try my best.

    Ok I am trying to solve an annoying problem for my parent's computer. My dad was typing a normal document in Microsoft Word (OS is XP with System Pack 2, and it is Word 2002) and he said that just yesterday for the first time, after typing for maybe a half hour, a window would pop up with a "runtime error" and it would freeze untill he clicked ok on it, and it would then shut down loosing all his work that he didn't save.

    So I got on the computer and opened Microsoft Word, and was able to duplicate the problem time after time but not every single time. When I simply open word, then click to close Word, the box appears, and he verified it is the same box he saw. It says exactly as follows, no more, no less, and every time reads the same -

    Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
    Runtime Error!
    Program:C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office 10\WINWORD.EXE
    abnormal program termination


    So I tried to research it, and came across a fix on Microsoft's support site saying remove something called COM Add-ins. I did so by following each step removing the one COM add in i found, and it did not resolve the problem at all. It still errors out. SO I grabbed the master disk and uninstalled Microsoft Word, NOT the whole Office set, just Word, and re-installed it figuring that would definitely fix it for him....nope. Today I got a phone call at work that it is doing it again. So when I checked his computer it is erroring again for me just as it did last night. Arghh..... I hope I provided enough information. Please let me know if any more is needed.

    I almost forgot to add that I updated and ran Full System scans of Norton and Spybot and found nothing.

    Thanks a ton ahead of time for your help guys,

    Mike
     
  2. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    First, welcome back!!! (although, vaguely, it's like seeing your cousin after many years at a funeral...nice to see you, sorry about the circumstances....)
    Well, this isn't fun - the more I looked, the more "answers" and causes I found...
    http://en.allexperts.com/q/Microsoft-Word-1058/Microsoft-Word-29.htm
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;835404
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=555220
    (I think you probably did what the above is about - COM add-ins)
    and two that seem similar, but aren't the same (good ol' MS!)
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/259413/
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/921541/en-us

    Good luck and let us know if you get this fixed - and what did it! :)
     
  3. Mike82

    Mike82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    SOLVED!!! Thanks a ton again man, I did the very first fix and the problem has now stopped. It is the fix that says to simply go to Control Panel and remove the "Works Suite Add-In For Microsoft Word". I haven't seen any signs of missing any features from Word either, as if the Add in had no purpose to begin with LOL. No more error messages at all. The fix with deleting the Com add ins I tried before coming here did not work, this did. My Dad sends his thanks!
     
  4. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    That's excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I wasn't sure any of them would be the answer, but add-ins are so often a little noticed cause of troubles.
    Please use the thread tools at the top of the page to mark this thread as Solved.
    See you around! :)
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/685900

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice