1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Microsoft WORD won't open for me without freezing.

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by hotskates, Dec 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hotskates

    hotskates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,375
    For some reason my Microsoft WORD isn't opening up.. When I click the icon the programs starts to open (by that I mean the 4"x4" square logo shows up) and then it stops there before opening up the whole page. Then It freezes up and I am unable to do anything else. I went to my documents and clicked a document there and the same thing happened. This is what I've done so far:
    1. I did system restore and nothing was fixed.
    2. I deleted WORD and Works and then reinstalled them. Still, nothing was fixed.
    3. I deleted all "normal.dot" hidden files (I read about sweets problem with WORD and tried that). After trying that, WORD opened, but I was unable to open a document because it said at the bottom of the page "requesting virus scan". It goes no further than that.

    I think the problem started after I downloaded a calendar template from the last Windows Office update newsletter.
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    What anti-virus program do you have?

    Its possible that the add-in is causing the problems.
     
  3. hotskates

    hotskates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,375
    kiwiguy....I have Norton "Internet Security". I guess its possible that the ad-in is causing the problem.
     
  4. EBSchrader

    EBSchrader

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    There is a setting in Norton where you have a choice of scanning all Office documents or not. You DEFINITELY don't want Norton to be scanning all Office documents. I have Norton SystemWorks, and in that program you click on Options, NAV, Other/Misc. The heading reads: "How to keep Microsoft Office documents protected" and underneath it has a box next to "Enable Office Plug-ins". Make sure that box is NOT checked, because it creates more problems (not to mention slowing down Office programs) than it fixes.
     
  5. hotskates

    hotskates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,375
    I've been out of town for a few days, but before I left, I ran a full system Norton virus scan and now WORD opens just fine. I opened and closed it several times using different documents. So, I'll marked this thread "SOLVED".
     
  6. dulciaj

    dulciaj

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    I'm having the exact same problem except that I cannot run a full scan with Norton. Each time I click on the run scan button it acts like it's going to scan and then does nothing. Do you know why that is? Also how can I fix my microsoft word problem?

    Thanks!
     
  7. EBSchrader

    EBSchrader

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    You might go online and get a free virus scan at House Call. Did you check to be sure that Norton is NOT automatically scanning your documents in Word?
     
  8. Jon9040

    Jon9040

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    I encountered the same problem as some of you are mentioning. I believe it was because I was messing around my Msconfig settings and happened to turn off something that I shouldn't have. If you are still experiencing problems then try looking there to make sure something hasn't been turned off that shouldn't have. It involved my Symantec virus protection I believe because I turned off most of it's components under my services section but somehow it still controls some other functions in other programs. I hope this helps.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/426227