1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Microsoft Works Suite 2002 msg on bootup

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by songman, Jul 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. songman

    songman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    On bootup of my Dell Inspiron 2650 laptop running Windows XP Home Edition SP 2, lately I have been getting this message box; the title of the msg box is "Microsoft Works Suite 2002 Setup" and the msg reads "To run the Works setup program, double click the Setup icon on the Works CD." There is a button below that reads "Exit Setup", which will get rid of the msg box. This is annoying as it happens on every bootup. I can't seem to find where this msg could be originating. There is not anything in my startup files that pertains to Microsoft Works, although a couple of months ago my Norton antivirus found a trogon infected file named "WkDetect.exe", which said it was not needed, so I deleted it. Every time I remove it from my startup entries, it always somehow re-appears there again. If I could find out where I could download that file I would reinstall it in the Windows\System\ folder where it originally was. I don't know if this could be the cause of my getting the above msg on bootup or not. Any help would be appreciated...
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Have you followed the message instructions and inserted the Works CD, and run setup (reinstalling it would be the simplest from there)
     
  3. songman

    songman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    For some reason every time I boot up my Dell Inspiron 2650 running Windows XP Home Edition SP 2, I get this message box: Title; "Microsoft Works Suite 2002 Setup", The message; "To run the Works setup program, double click the Setup icon on the Works CD.", There is a button below the message "Exit Setup". You can get rid of the message box by clicking the Exit button. I just don't know where this msg box is coming from. It just started happening about a month ago. I have had the Works Suite 2002 on the computer from the time I bought it new in 2002. I have uninstalled the Suite and reinstalled it, but it still is coming up. Even after I uninstalled all the programs I re-booted my computer and the msg box still came up even with no Suite application on the computer. Go figure!!! I would sure appreciate any help on this as it sure is annoying to have to clear the box at every boot up...
     
  4. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,565
    Hi click on start>run>type..msconfig>click on start up tab..
    Uncheck [untick] Microsoft Works Suite>apply>ok>reboot.
    Let us know if that removes it.
     
  5. songman

    songman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10
  6. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Just to save confusion relating to this being posted in two places, the other post with some more info is here:

    http://forums.techguy.org/windows-nt-2000-xp/489148-alert-msg-box-boot-up.html#post3850825

    I really think you need to post a Hijacckthis log, as it appears to me that your PC is still infected, that could be the root cause.

    That the file keeps reappearing is a concern, as depending where it's running from it may not be what you think.

    Keeping the posting in the same threads is best, apart from multiple posting being against the forum rules, it's just too confusing!
     
  7. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Threads merged. Please carry on... :)
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Check the start, run, msconfig, startup tab.
     
  9. songman

    songman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Help!!!! As I am new to this type of site I originally posted more than 1 thread on the subject of what I need help on. I see the other posts have a "closed" tab on them. Those posts are where I posted my Hijackthis log file. Do I need to post it again to this thread? I appreciate the replies I have had on this. Please help me.....
     
  10. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    I would to make it easier to discuss.

    Thanks
     
  11. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Click Start - Run, type in MSCONFIG, then click OK - "Startup" tab. Remove the checkmark from:

    WorksFUD wkfud.exe

    Microsoft Works Update Detection WkUFind.exe

    Microsoft Works Portfolio WksSb.exe

    Click Apply - OK afterwards, then reboot. When the SCU window appears during reboot, ignore the message. Place a checkmark in the window, then click OK.

    Please post your HJT log in this thread.
     
  12. songman

    songman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Well finally got it fixed. I want to thank kiwiguy for the reply on the item 04 - HKLM\..\Run: [OE_Plugin_Startup] "C:\Documents and Settings\Default User\Local_Settings\Temp\~WKS99TEMP\LAUNCHER.EXE" in the Hijackthis log. The Launcher.exe file was the culprit. After a little registry editing to get rid of the LAUNCHER item in my msconfig file everything is back to normal. Thanks so much for the tip....
     
  13. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Makes it more difficult to diagnose things with multiple threads ;) by the way, anything relating to MS works in the startup tab of msconfig can be unchecked ;)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/488096

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice