1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Minor Problem -- Windows Updates

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Rob Roy, Sep 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rob Roy

Rob Roy Thread Starter

:) Hi. Just bought an emachine with windows vista. I'm really happy with it [compared with my windows 98 antique with a floppy drive], but man has technology advanced!

There's just a minor problem -- the windows updates. Landline challenged here.

Is there some way that I could go to the library, load the updates in a flash drive, and then use the flash drive to update my emachine? I have no experience with flash drives. Just curious.

Thank you and enjoying this new machine!

2. -Fabez-

-Fabez-

Is your Emachine connected to the internet ? I think it is possible to download the installations for updates to a flash drive. With a flash drive, all you have to do is plug it into a usb port, wait for Windows to find it, then you can acsess it from my computer.

3. Rob Roy

Rob Roy Thread Starter

:eek: I could walk over to a PC at the library, load the updates on the flash drive, then plug it into my own PC later?

I do have a landline connection. It's just so darn slow cramming all that data through that way.

-- Thank you for your time. I'll check back later in the day

-- Regards ....

4. -Fabez-

-Fabez-