1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Solved] missing file error at boot up

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by StepsInSC, Dec 20, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. StepsInSC

    StepsInSC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Recently I lost my HD so I have this new one I got up and running yesterday. Anyways I'm getting a DOS error message before the desktop boots up...actually I'm getting 3 of them in a row. All of them state that they Cannot find a device file that may be needed to run Windows or a Window application. The files it then lists are:
    vnetsup.vxd
    vredir.vxd
    dfs.vxd

    It also says they are required by something that is being used in my System.ini file.

    Then...right when the desktop loads up, I get an error box saying "Unable to load the dynamic link library: msnp32.dll". It also says "Some or all of the following feature is not available: Microsoft Network"

    I don't know which app in my system.ini is causing this, and I don't remember it happening right after I installed drivers for one device b/c I was installing so many things at the time. Any help figuring out what these things are and how I can fix this/get rid of it would be a help.
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    StepsInSC
    Ran across this exact message yesterday on a friends machine.
    If you do a search on all three files you probably will find the three listed within an AOL folder and none within the C:\windows\system folder. To cure this you must extract original copies of them from your Win CD and place them in the c:\windows\system folder. Note all three are used for networking.
    Dave
     
  3. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You may also be able to resolve that by removing and reinstalling Client For Microsoft Networks through the Control Panel Network applet. If you are not networking, it might not be necessary to reinstall it. But if you do, you will need your Windows CD or to point to c:\windows\options\cabs (if you have cab files on the HD) when prompted for a disk.
     
  4. StepsInSC

    StepsInSC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks for the info, I took care of the first 3. But any ideas on the other one? The one I'm getting an dialogue box from?
     
  5. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
  6. StepsInSC

    StepsInSC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    thanks everyone.
     
  7. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    You're welcome. I assume you fix it so I will make this thread solved.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62425

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice