1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Missing items from context menu.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by renegade X, May 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. renegade X

    renegade X Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    569
    Hi all. When I right click the desktop, and select "New" there is no longer New Bitmap Image. I was thinking it was setup similar to the "Send TO" option, but I see no folder anywhere. When I google it the best I can find is some TweakUI program, which is not what I want.

    In the registry I found the hive where it resides, but adding here is only temporary. [HKEY_USERS\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Discardable\PostSetup\ShellNew]

    Anyone know where to add the items to the context menu?
     
  2. renegade X

    renegade X Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    569
    Anyone?
     
  3. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
  4. renegade X

    renegade X Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    569
    OMG THAT IS SUPER !!!!!!!!!!!!!(y) (y) (y) (y) (y)

    Thank you Stanley.
     
  5. AM_sTayIng_hEre

    AM_sTayIng_hEre

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    You should use "registry mechanic", intsall it from here and then do a registry scan and press "repair".
     
  6. renegade X

    renegade X Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    569
    Thanks. I have a few, but like to work from the registry manually. This helps to understand how it works. Now I have to get the hang of VISTA's registry .:rolleyes:
     
  7. AM_sTayIng_hEre

    AM_sTayIng_hEre

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Found it
    download this txt file. open it and save as anything.reg and then run it, press yes.
     

    Attached Files:

    • bmp.txt
      File size:
      904 bytes
      Views:
      303
  8. renegade X

    renegade X Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    569
    Yes that works, but here is the one that I created. I decided to do it as a .jpg instead



    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.jpg\ShellNew]
    "Nullfile"=""
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Missing items
  1. Robertico22
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    476
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/571943

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice