1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: "Missing" PC on a Network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by reeflobang, Apr 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. reeflobang

    reeflobang Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Hi all, my current configuration as below:

    - 3Com ADSL/Router/Wifi + 3Com 24 Port Switch connect to a 1.5 Mps ADSL line.
    - 10 PCs with half running Windows XP and the other half Vista Basic that are connected by LAN cable to the 3Com Switch.
    - HP AIO Laser Printer networked to support the 10 PCs.

    I have set up all PCs to access a shared folders at 2 designated PCs. Strangely, all the PCs can see both designated PCs on their network window but are only able to connected to only one of the PC. When they click onto the "problematic" PC / Folder, it says cannot locate it after a long search. I tried to ping that PC as well but got no response. Strangely that "problematic" PC is able to view other PCs and also use the network printer as well. I have enabled "File Sharing" on this PC already so not sure what the problem is.

    Thanks in advance for the help!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Failure to ping is almost always a firewall issue. I'd start by disabling ALL the firewalls on the problem machine and see if you can make progress.
     
  3. reeflobang

    reeflobang Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks JohnWill for both replies!
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Did you get it sorted out?
     
  5. reeflobang

    reeflobang Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Hi JohnWill, thanks for the follow up. Am out of the office these few days so cannot do anything for now. An office tried to disable the Firewall but was still unable to detect it. But I would like to try to do it again when I am in. Thanks again!
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    OK, let us know...

    We can "unsolve" this if it's not really solved. :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Missing Network
  1. Kaizerwulf
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,259
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/703974

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice