1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: MoBo replaced, XP wont load.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JSntgRvr, Mar 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,551
    First Name:
    José
    My MoBo died last night. I got another MoBo and installed all the hardware, however, Windows XP is refusing to load. It boots to a Stop error where IDE controllers are metioned.

    Would a change in Motherboard cause this issue? What can I do to avoid a reformat?
     
  2. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Yes. You still have the drivers for your old MB on the hard drive. Usually a repair install works, but you'll need to redownload and install any Windows updates.
     
  3. Flags

    Flags

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,930
    JS: Did you load the Chipset drivers for your new motherboard?
     
  4. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Chipset drivers are loaded from Windows.
     
  5. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,551
    First Name:
    José
    Thanks Norton, will try the Repair Install. I hope Microsoft does not refuse to register the computer.

    Thanks again.
     
  6. wdro

    wdro

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    172
    Sorry, I suck at computers but I'm curious to know what you meant by ms refusing to register the computer? I heard that one copy of windows for one computer. So in your case, what happnes if you computer breaks down and need to get a new one? Do you need to buy a new copy of windows?
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,239
    It depends. When you buy a pre-built system, it comes with xp already loaded. There is ONE catch however; the os is bound to the original hardware. It is not legal to use the oem os that came with say a dell computer on another system.

    Note this does not apply if you buy your own full version of windows os.
     
  8. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Yes if it's a full retail version of XP you may end up having to call Microsoft to reactivate, but there shouldn't be any problem.
     
  9. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,551
    First Name:
    José
    Seems that microsoft allows you to reactivate once a year. Should you experience a MoBo burn down, as I did, and need to replace the MoBo, it is like installing Windows on another computer, as the hardware will be different. When this happens, Microsoft may refuse to register and re-activate the OS, thus the Updates will not be available. You may call Microsoft and explain what the siruation is and they will allow you to register and reactivate. But be careful, as the questions may be tricky, and if you fail to provide a fast response, they may think you have more than one computer with the same OS, and you will not be able to reactivate.

    Well, I am happy to inform that after a repair install I am up and running and was able to re-activate.

    Thanks a million guys! (y)
     
  10. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    egad, Now i know why people hate Bill Gates and Microsoft sooo much, heres a guy who made billions of dollars exploiting the capitalist system and then turned into a facist pig, i mean i understand that they dont want you to buy 1 copy and put it on a hundred computers...fine, but what if i like to change motherboards more often than once per year, maybe I'm a hardware freak and change out hardware every month or every day what the he$$ business is it of BG, I bought the friggin Retail version, so as long as I have it on 1 pc get outta my life. Want an example??, I buy a replacement mobo, reactivate my XP, ok, 2 months go by and that mobo dies too, I rma it but newegg doesnt have that mobo any more so they send me an equivilant, so now what? MS says no, no, no, we dont trust you, you have to wait a year to get your os activated, does this sound right to you?
     
  11. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    I don't remember that there used to be any rules about reactivating once a year. At least in the past Microsoft has been fairly lenient about reactivating. Of course maybe Bill has changed his mind.
     
  12. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,551
    First Name:
    José
    You always have the option to call Microsoft for re-activation, as long as you have a valid argument.
     
  13. wdro

    wdro

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    172
    For an OEM OS, what if I also have a very valid argument? For example, my OEM motherboard doesn't have any PCI-e slots, I want to change my mobo but keep my OS at the same time...
     
  14. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    At the Microsoft OEM Builder Site the only provision mentioned for replacing a motherboard that came with an OEM system and reusing the OEM system is for motherboard failure.

    I believe that if you wanted to "upgrade" the board and reuse the OEM system Microsoft would probably say that you have created a new computer and would need to purchase a new operating system.
     
  15. The JGG

    The JGG

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    In the past, when ive come to re-activate the OS, after numerous reasons, hard drive kaput, new board etc.. From memory at least 3 times in 1 year. The M$ peeps have asked the same questions, why do you need to reactivate it, how many pc's has this OS been on. etc, after mentioning the reasons as stated above, they give the code, and thats it.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/449174

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice