Solved: Mobos and SLI

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MaD_KiLLeR

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
279
Hey,

Ive been looking for a SLI compatible motherboard, and im not sure if it has 2 pci-E 16x slots u can just use SLI, or does the motherboard have to be SLI compatible?

All of the mobos ive been looking at say they support Crossfire but not SLI like the link below
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ProductID=2839

So could someone tell me, does it have to say its good for SLI, or can i just use it because it has 2 pci-E 16x slots?

Thanks,
MaD
 

MaD_KiLLeR

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
279
i dont want crossfire and sli, just a sli board, and the one u mentioned is alright, ill see if my local shops stock it. but do you know if Gigabyte has sli board because i cannot find any on my local shops sites
 

MaD_KiLLeR

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
279
thanks man, i just hope they sell them at my shops, as i dont like buying this kind of stuff online

edit: after goign though that, there all for AMD, i have Intel Socket 775
 

MaD_KiLLeR

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
279
yeah, i dont think newegg ships to Australia

also check post above ^ :)
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
132
yeah probably not and after reading that i went thru the intel Gigabyte boards and didnt find any sli compatible ones
 

MaD_KiLLeR

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
279
yeah it sucks, they make them for amd but not intel :( guess ill have to go asus or something
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
132
yeah asus is a good brand i have had an old socket 370 asus for like forever, it finaly died last week.
 

MaD_KiLLeR

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
279
i want one so i can use SLI mode obviously :p and my stores dont sell evga for osme reason
 
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
6,922
Well, just find any nForce 750i board, that isn't made by some Chinese corner-shop. Preferably from some mfg like MSI or Foxconn. Or DFI. Or Biostar. Or Asrock.
I would suggest against spending your money on the SLI feature, rather than just a reliable and high-quality board... But it's your choice. Of course SLI is cool and so on... -.-
 
Joined
May 12, 2007
Messages
2,486
I know its down as solved, but... The Asus Striker 2 is a board I can recommend. More features than you can shake a stick at, very sound. I went of Asus, but this one has restored a lot of faith. Not cheap by any means, but it does a beautifil SLI :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top