1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Mocha VNC lite help

Discussion in 'Archive: Phones & Handheld Devices' started by haydenb91, Jul 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. haydenb91

    haydenb91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Alright, I downloaded the Mocha VNC lite app for my 2nd generation, 8GB iPod touch. I know my IP address but cannot connect my iPod to my laptop. Laptop uses Windows Vista and both the laptop and the iPod are on the same WLAN. I am totally lost, please help!
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    What version of Vista and what VNC server are you running on Vista?
    Firewalls running?
     
  3. haydenb91

    haydenb91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Windows Vista Home Premium but I don't think I have a VNC server. Yes my firewall is on.
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Well you need to run a VNC server on your computer so that the VNC client can access your computer. It is a Server/Client technology.

    I usually recommend UltraVNC.
    Once you have UltraVNC installed you will then need to allow port 5900 through your firewall.
     
  5. haydenb91

    haydenb91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Okay do you have a link I can go to?
     
  6. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
  7. haydenb91

    haydenb91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Okay I downloaded the UltraVnc 1.0.8.2 but now it's asking me to put in something called VNC server. I tried my IP address and selected LAN as my Internet speed but I'm clueless.
     
  8. haydenb91

    haydenb91 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    If it's not too much trouble maybe a step-by-step walkthrough?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/935190

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice