1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: .MOD Video Thumbnails Not Showing

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by JCyoung, Mar 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JCyoung

JCyoung Thread Starter

Ok... i have some computer knowledge, and i can google with the best of them but I haven't found a complete fix to my problem... here we go... got video from this last waterfowl season... on my old Toshiba satellite which was running windows 7 home ed, i was able to take that video (.MOD) format and put it straight onto my computer into a folder, and i would have a thumbnail of maybe the beginning of that video... That computer's Hard drive crashed... so i bought a smaller Toshiba like T135 or something without a disc drive, which also has windows 7 home, and I am able to get the thumbnails on that coomputer also... however i bought this Dell Optiplex GX280 which has Windows XP on it... I bought it because it would be a better video editing computer than some small laptop... This computer has good stats, but alas i went to put my video on and i opened my flash drive and I have 0 photoed thumbnails... now when i first started this, i had the factory Windows Media Player... no thumbnails with it... then upgraded to media player 11, still no thumbnails... all it has is the WMP icon and MPEG... if i need i can take a screen photo and show you... so i've spent the last couple hours googling and found what seemed to be a solution by downloading this codec which a few people said fixed their problem... Stinkys' MPEG-2 Codec Installer... I download and ran this... now it wasn't a complete failure because one of the sub-folders inside the main folder finally came up as the thumbnail... and the videos inside that folder came up as thumbnails... but i still hav