1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Modem connects to Internet.. but Router can't?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by matt4player1, Jul 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. matt4player1

    matt4player1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Please if anyone can help me out that would be great. I recently bought a new router because I thought that was the problem. I called my service provider (Wowway), they checked my modem (provided by them) and said everything coming "in" is fine but the router is not functioniny properly. So, I bought a new one and everything is connected properly. I have a Arris TM602G modem (provided by wowway) and a brand new Netgear N300 wireless router. My internet works when the modem is directly connect to the computer but when the router is hooked up my internet doesn't work at all. When I do ipconfig /all with the router connected this is what I get.

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Lisowskis-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-4B-48-59-7F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c8e5:cad9:9841:89eb%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, July 16, 2011 6:06:21 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, July 17, 2011 6:06:21 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184556107
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-A0-09-C3-00-1A-4B-48-59-7F
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{355DA2BD-DBB3-41F6-AE46-707D3E76D1CA}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,611
    First Name:
    Terry
    When you switch the device connected to the modem do you remember to power cycle it? For that modem I think you have to remove the battery as well as unplugging it if you don't use the reset button.

    Have you cloned the computer's MAC Address to the router's WAN in case your ISP is tracking the MAC Address of the device connected to the modem?
     
  3. matt4player1

    matt4player1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Yes, I do power cycle the modem by unplugging the power cable and removing the battery. Still doesn't fix the problem. I can't clone the MAC address because I can't connect to my router's setttings in a browser.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,611
    First Name:
    Terry
    What browser? What exactly happens when you try?

    Can you ping the router? (In a command prompt window type ping 192.168.1.1)?
     
  5. matt4player1

    matt4player1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    In internet explorer I type in 192.168.1.1 and it says the "Address is not valid" and when I try to ping this is what I get:

    C:\Users\Lisowski's>ping 192.168.1.1
    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,611
    First Name:
    Terry
    Perhaps a non-Windows firewall or security suite that is corrupted or mis-configured.
     
  7. matt4player1

    matt4player1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I tried disabling the AVG firewall. Didn't work. I then temporaryily disabled AVG sercurity and to my amazement it worked. Do you why AVG would cause these problems? Is there a way I could fix this? Thank you for all your help by the way.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,611
    First Name:
    Terry
    See my previous post for two possibilities. From what I've seen over the past several months I think that the AVG folks are making a determined effort to compete with some better known security suites for title of "Causes the most Trouble." :rolleyes:

    Yes. Uninstall AVG and run the AVG Remover.

    If you wish you can then reinstall it and try to configure it for how you want it to behave.
     
  9. matt4player1

    matt4player1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Uhhh.. just removed AVG and now I can't connect again (with the router connected). Ran ipconfig /all again and this is what I got:

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Lisowskis-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-4B-48-59-7F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c8e5:cad9:9841:89eb%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, July 16, 2011 9:51:48 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, July 17, 2011 9:51:47 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184556107
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-A0-09-C3-00-1A-4B-48-59-7
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{355DA2BD-DBB3-41F6-AE46-707D3E76D1CA}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,611
    First Name:
    Terry
    When you do not have internet access a good first step is to determine if you have a good IP configuration (you do). Here are some more steps ...

    a. ipconfig /all to see if you have a good IP configuration;
    b. ping the router (192.168.1.1) to see if you can communicate with it at all;
    c. ping a web site (e.g., ping 8.8.8.8) to see if you have low level internet access;
    d. ping a web site by name (e.g., ping yahoo.com) to see if DNS is working;
    e. login to the router;
    f. see if the WAN section of the router has a good IP configuration.
     
  11. matt4player1

    matt4player1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    C:\Users\Lisowski's>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Lisowski's>ping 8.8.8.8

    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Lisowski's>ping yahoo.com

    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.

    ..and I still cannot login to the router.
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,611
    First Name:
    Terry
    Perhaps a non-Windows firewall or security suite that is corrupted or mis-configured.
     
  13. matt4player1

    matt4player1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Finally fixed with typing "netsh winsock reset catalog" (resets winsock entries) and "netsh int ip reset reset.log hit" (resets TCP/IP stack) in command prompt.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1007704

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice