1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Modem/Router Connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Handle It, Jan 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Handle It

    Handle It Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    SBC sent me a Westell Proline F90-610025-06 modem/router for my new DSL account. It works fine on one computer, but when I connected it to a second computer through a Linksys switch (ethernet cables), the second computer was not able to obtain a different local IP number from the Westell. Both computers show a address conflict error when they are both on. I pushed the buttons in the advanced section of the Westell menu, but could not find any way to expand the range of IP addresses available. The only option I could find was to change the lease time on IP addresses, or switch from PPPoE to PPPoA. I pushed repair connection in the computer LAN menu, but the computer was not able to get a different IP address. The Westell just kept giving both computers the same IP. This is my first broadband connection, so I am an amateur on connecting them.

    Windows XP SP2 I tried powering everything down, and restarting in this order: Westell, Linksys, computers It didn't help. Manually inputting a different IP address on one computer's LAN connection didn't do anything either. How do I get the Westell to give different local IP addresses to different computers?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's see this from the machine that's working connected to that modem/router.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. Handle It

    Handle It Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Microsoft(R) Windows DOS(C)Copyright Microsoft Corp 1990-2001.C:\DOCUME~1\INTERNET>ipconfig/allWindows IP Configuration Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mike Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . : Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : NoEthernet adapter Local Area Connection: Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0B-DB-C0-67-11 Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.64 Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0 Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254 DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254 DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254 Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 23, 2009 4:10:50 PM Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 24, 2009 4:10:50 PMC:\DOCUME~1\INTERNET>
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's see the one that can't connect, and have it connected by itself without the other one connected.
     
  5. Handle It

    Handle It Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    dns suffix -node type hybridIP routing enabled noWINS proxy enabled nophysical address 00.13.72.30.d5DHCP enabled yesIP address 192.168.1.64subnet node 255.255.255.0default gateway 192.168.1.254DHCP server 192.168.1.254DNS server 192.168.1.254lease obtained 7:44.52
     
  6. Handle It

    Handle It Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    They both connect to the Internet just fine alone, but not at the same time. I manually disconnected the first computer from the LAN, and the other worked when I started it up. The first computer would not manually reconnect though, as it could not obtain an IP address. It worked when I restarted the computer with the other one disconnected..Whichever computer starts first works, and the second one can't connect due to no IP address.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,269
    First Name:
    Terry
    What are you doing that causes the carriage returns/line feeds to be lost? Putting them back in your first should look like ...

    Microsoft(R) Windows DOS
    (C)Copyright Microsoft Corp 1990-2001.
    C:\DOCUME~1\INTERNET>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mike
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0B-DB-C0-67-11
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.64
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 23, 2009 4:10:50 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 24, 2009 4:10:50 PM
    C:\DOCUME~1\INTERNET>

    What Windows is this? 2k Pro? Or XP SP1?

    So far what I can see is that the router is indeed assigning the same IP address as if you hadn't switched computers. This could be an issue with the switch or a serious router problem. But first ...

    Could we see the entire output requested for the second computer, please? Formatted, if possible. :)
     
  8. Handle It

    Handle It Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    I have no idea why the formatting is lost. Windows XP service pack 2. Which specific lines are you looking for? I manually copied it to a piece of paper, and typed it down formatted, but everything scrunched together into an unreadable mess when I pushed post. If I just put down the relevant lines, they may be easier to read.
     
  9. Handle It

    Handle It Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Okay, I think I got it. I had my security settings too high, and that turned off Java. How is this?

    Microsoft(R) Windows DOS
    (C)Copyright Microsoft Corp 1990-2001.
    C:\DOCUME~1\INTERNET>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Papacomp
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-72-30-d5
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.64
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
     
  10. bradacus

    bradacus

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Your modem only puts out one IP address - are you sure it couples as a router? If you are sure then you should have no problem getting a second IP address.

    Also you say you are using a switch for your computers, this leads me to believe that the modem only has one output for network cables.

    If the above is true you need to buy a router because your modem doesn't have ip routing capabilities.

    But without seeing your hardware this is just an educated guess.


    edit - have you tried to access your gateway? 192.168.1.254
     
  11. Handle It

    Handle It Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Yes, I did access the modem/router gateway. The technician's readout shows that the device is currently configured as a single device router. I am not sure how to configure it for 2 devices. I tried to post the entire readout, but the formatting failed, rendering it unreadable.
     
  12. Handle It

    Handle It Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    I didn't know what a single device router was, so I Googled it. This came up in the search results. Does this seem reasonable, and would I substitute 192.168.1.x for the local IP addresses (since the 6100 seems to use a 1 before the last period in the local IP address)?

    http://www.broadbandreports.com/faq/11077

    I may need to buy a multiple device router, as I did not realize that some routers are only configured for use by a single device. What do you think?
     
  13. bradacus

    bradacus

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    I've never had to play with the modem/router combo devices so I'm going to be no help on how the setup procedure goes in your gateway....but if you call SBC you can get someone to help you set it up in a few minutes I'm sure (if you can truly configure it for multiple devices).

    If not just pick up a router at your local electronics retailer, although I would give SBC a shot first and see if they can walk you through the set up.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,269
    First Name:
    Terry
    First time I've heard of a 'single device' router. Thank you for bringing something new to my attention. :) Maybe there is a special setting for that or maybe they just set the Dhcp server address range to be 192.168.1.64 thought 192.168.1.64.

    Maybe SBC has you locked out from making certain settings or maybe they are just trying to be annoying. Look in the LAN section and see if you can find a "single device" option or the Dhcp server address range and if you can change it/them.

    If not, try that static IP advice. Your TCP/IP properties settings will be the same as you see in the ipconfig /all except for the last number of the IP address. Should be able to use anything from 1 through 253 except for 64.
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Since you can access the configuration pages, please post a screen shot of any pages you can access, maybe we can figure out how to configure it. I can't find a user's manual for that unit.


    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to TSG, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/793751

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice