1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Modern Warfare 2, What in my computer should be improved??

Discussion in 'Games' started by Jon_12156, Feb 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jon_12156

    Jon_12156 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    So I just bought this computer from tiger direct. Here's the listing:
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?Sku=G180-0122

    Highlights:

    Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit
    Intel Core i5 3.2GHz processor
    NVIDIA GeForce G310 512MB Graphics Card
    8 gigs of ram
    300 watt power supply


    The problem I have is Modern Warfare 2 runs, but not as well as I wish. The most I can get out of it with a decent frame rate (very seldom falls below 60) is a resolution of 800x600 and all low settings (like no anti-aliasing, low texture quality, no shadows, no spectoral map, no ragdoll, no nothing)



    What do I need to get a better quality? 1080p would be GREAT, but I'm pretty sure that's not gonna happen. What needs to be upgraded? Any suggestions would be very helpful. Thanks!


    I don't know if this small bit of info helps: I am using a dvi to hdmi cable from my video card to my monitor.

    The following is from systemrequirementslab.com:
    My computer is at the very top of the meter on the site.

    [​IMG] CPU Minimum: Intel Pentium 4 3.2 GHz or AMD Athlon 64 3200+ processor or better supported You Have: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 650 @ 3.20GHz [​IMG] PASS
    [​IMG] CPU Speed Minimum: Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz or AMD Athlon 64 3200+ processor or better supported You Have: 3.19 GHz Performance Rated at: 6.061 GHz [​IMG] PASS
    [​IMG] RAM Minimum: 1 GB You Have: 7.9 GB [​IMG] PASS
    [​IMG] OS Minimum: Microsoft Windows XP, Windows Vista and Windows 7 (Windows 95/98/ME/2000 are unsupported) You Have: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition (build 7600), 64-bit [​IMG] PASS
    [​IMG] Video Card Minimum: 256 MB NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT or better or ATI Radeon 1600 XT or better You Have: GeForce 310 [​IMG] PASS
    Features:
    [​IMG] Video RAM Required:256 MB You Have 4.0 GB
    [​IMG] Hardware T&L Required:Yes You Have: Yes
    [​IMG] Pixel Shader version Required:3.0 You Have:4.0
    [​IMG] Vertex Shader version Required:3.0 You Have:4.0
    [​IMG] Sound Card Minimum: Yes You Have: Realtek High Definition Audio [​IMG] PASS
    [​IMG] Free Disk Space Minimum: 12 GB of free hard drive space You Have: 867.3 GB [​IMG] PASS
     
  2. kasper1

    kasper1

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    I don't know but i have the game and it works perfectly

    highlights
    windows xp home edition
    intel Pentiume 4 3.06 Ghz
    1.5 Gb of RAM
    nVidia geforce 512Mb G8400

    and see if these imformation can help you
    Call of duty : Modern warfare 2
    OS: Microsoft Windows XP, Windows Vista and Windows 7 (Windows 95/98/ME/2000 are unsupported)
    Processor: Intel Pentium 4 3.2 GHz or AMD Athlon 64 3200+ processor or better supported
    Memory: 1 GB RAM
    Graphics: 256 MB NVIDIA GeForce 6600GT or better or ATI Radeon 1600XT or better
    DirectX: Microsoft DirectX(R) 9.0c
    Hard Drive: 12GB of free hard drive space
    Sound: 100% DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card
    Internet: Broadband connection required for Multiplayer Connectivity. Internet Connection required for activation
    Hard Drive Space: 16 GB free hard drive space
    Operating System: Windows Vista/XP
    Processor: AMD 64 3200+ or Intel Pentium 4 3.0GHz or better
    RAM: 512 MB RAM (XP) / 1 GB RAM (VISTA)
    Video Card: Shader 3.0 or better 256 MB nVidia GeForce 6600GT / ATI Radeon 1600XT or better
     
  3. Jon_12156

    Jon_12156 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Do you think it is just because I am running windows 7? I'm not an EXPERT, but I thought my hardware should blow this game away.
     
  4. Dwel

    Dwel

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Its your video card. The rest of your computer is great.
    Your graphics card is an onboard card? Id recommend getting a decent pci-e card. a a gts250 perhaps?
     
  5. tom6049

    tom6049

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    775
    The GeForce G310 (64 bit memory interface) is the reason for the poor game performance.
    When it comes to video card performance, you pretty much get what you pay for.
    Quite simply, a ~ $50.00 video card isn't likely going to provide the graphics
    power that you need if you want higher frames per second.
     
  6. Jon_12156

    Jon_12156 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    my computer comes with an onboard, but it also comes with the geforce 310, which is PCIe...

    Anyway, I guess I can agree that it's the video card that is the problem. With my setup, what card should i buy to be able to run 1080p, all high settings, and fps never below 60?

    also, that nvidia gts 250 looks good, and good price. How much performance do you think i'd be able to get out of that?

    Thanks
     
  7. peck1234

    peck1234

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,256
    Your GPU PSU are underpowered.

    I would recommend a nvida 200 series card with a modextreme powersupply. 600+ watts
     
  8. Jon_12156

    Jon_12156 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Yeah I was just looking at the specs for the gts 250. says it needs 450 w power supply. I only have 300w. What's the best card I can get to go with my 300w power supply?

    I'll think about upgrading the power supply too, but I'd rather not if I don't have to.
     
  9. Jon_12156

    Jon_12156 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Let's just say I have... $250 that I can use to upgrade my computer. Sounds like I need a new power supply and a new video card. Could you provide me with links to what you would recommend I buy?

    also, do you think I would get better performance if I were to just upgrade my power supply? Is the problem possibly that the geforce G310 that I have is just underpowered? or should I upgrade the card too?
     
  10. peck1234

    peck1234

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,256
  11. Jon_12156

    Jon_12156 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks a lot for your help! now just before I go ahead and buy these two, what kind of performance would you expect after these are installed? how high could i put settings and still get at least 60 fps?
     
  12. tom6049

    tom6049

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    775
    A lot depends upon the game resolution (1024x768,1680x1050,1900x1200, etc.)
    and in game settings that you want to use. You might get an idea of how your system
    will play by checking some Modern Warfare 2 game benchmarks.
    Google "Modern Warfare 2 benchmark" and have a look.
     
  13. Jon_12156

    Jon_12156 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    28
  14. Jon_12156

    Jon_12156 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    they aren't too big to fit in my box, are they? Anybody forsee any issues (compatibility, size, whatever) if I were to take that combo deal?
     
  15. peck1234

    peck1234

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,256
    you will be very happy with that 5850! (beast of a card even though im a nvidia fan boy FTW)

    As for wondering if it will fit in your box only you can decide that, the dims for that card are 9.5" x 4.38" x 1.5"

    So break out the ruler! : )
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/904396