1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Modify userAgent string?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by blakcshadow, Apr 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blakcshadow

    blakcshadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    I regularly watch netflix on my laptop, however recently I'm not able to. The only thing I can think of is sandboxie. I think I remember seeing something about spoofing the OS/browser, and selecting that option. I have since uninstalled Sandboxie.

    Now, I am unable to watch Netflix. I have tried several things, even editing the key at
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\User Agent. Before, it read [Default (value not set)]


    Now it reads
    [(Default) Mozilla/5.0
    Compatible compatible
    Platform Windows NT 6.1 WOW64
    Trident Trident/5.0
    Version MSIE 9.0

    However my userAgent string shows up as:
    Your User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 999.1; Unknown)

    My friend's laptop has the same OS. His userAgent string is not edited.

    His userAgent reads as:
    Your User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; Trident/4.0; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Media Center PC 6.0; .NET4.0C

    He is able to watch netflix on his computer. How am I able to modify my userAgent to allow me to watch netflix?






    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate , Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-56, AMD64 Family 15 Model 72 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 1918 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce Go 6150, 128 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 61442 MB, Free - 5415 MB; G: Total - 32418 MB, Free - 20948 MB;
    Motherboard: Quanta, 30B9, 65.2C, None
    Antivirus: Symantec Endpoint Protection, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,064
    Test your User-Agent String HERE.
     
  3. blakcshadow

    blakcshadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    The site reported in red:
    Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 999.1; Unknown) using FireFox 4

    same using IE9
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,064
    They should be offering ways to fix it. Try their suggestions but do back up your registry first.
     
  5. blakcshadow

    blakcshadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    I imported the registry key for my browser (IE9) and it reports the same error.

    Here is the rest of the entry for the site


    Your browser sent the following headers:

    Connection: keep-alive
    Keep-Alive: 115
    Content-Length: 0
    Accept: text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8
    Accept-Charset: ISO-8859-1,utf-8;q=0.7,*;q=0.7
    Accept-Encoding: gzip, deflate
    Accept-Language: en-us,en;q=0.5
    Host: www.enhanceie.com
    User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 999.1; Unknown)
    X-Original-URL: /ua.aspx
    ASPNET's HTTPBrowserCapabilities object reports that, based on the User-Agent, your Browser has the following capabilities:
    Type = IE999Name = IEVersion = 999.1Major Version = 999Minor Version = 0.1Platform = UnknownIs Beta = FalseIs Crawler = FalseIs AOL = FalseIs Win16 = FalseIs Win32 = FalseSupports Frames = TrueSupports Tables = TrueSupports Cookies = TrueSupports VBScript = TrueSupports JavaScript = TrueSupports Java Applets = TrueSupports ActiveX Controls = True
    window.navigator.userAgent: [Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:2.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/4.0]
    window.navigator.appMinorVersion: [undefined]
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,064
    You know, your problem might not even be related to the User-Agent String. What's needed to view those videos? Flash?
     
  7. blakcshadow

    blakcshadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    I get an error about the OS not being supported. I've used Google to search for sites that will identify my OS and all have returned as Unknown OS. I understood that the OS was sent useing the userAgent string (the NT version)
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,064
  9. blakcshadow

    blakcshadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    are you sure this is the correct article? It is about a nongeniune copy of Windows 7. My copy of 7 is fully activated. I checked the PnP GPO and it is listed as Undefined (meaning a policy is not applied).

    I followed the instructions listed anyway, and am about to restart my pc
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,064
    I'm not saying your copy isn't genuine. But, sometimes, that particular bug makes Microsoft believe it isn't genuine.
     
  11. blakcshadow

    blakcshadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    I checked again and my OS is still reported as Unknown. Same issue with netflix as well
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,064
  13. blakcshadow

    blakcshadow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    exact same results as before

    could this be a leftover affect from sandboxie?
     
  14. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,064
    Are you by any chance using a proxy server?
     
  15. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,064
    If no luck,

    Please click HERE to download and install HijackThis.

    Run it and select Do a system scan and save a logfile from the Main Menu.

    The log will be saved in Notepad. Copy and paste the log in your next reply.

    IMPORTANT: Do not fix anything


    If Windows is denying access to the Hosts file, disable the UAC and run HijackThis again.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/994073