1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Monitor compatibility

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by slavito007, Apr 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. slavito007

    slavito007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Hello.
    I'm considering a purchase of a new monitor. But I have one very important question: Is there any chance a 16:9 or 16:10 monitor won't run properly on my computer? If there is, what does it depend on?
     
  2. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
  3. slavito007

    slavito007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Thank you. But I already know about this setting and I'm still hesitating whether I will have problems or not.
    My video card is ATI radeon X300/X550/X1050. Does it support HD resolution?
    And another question: is this the maximum resolution of the monitor I'm currently with or is it the maximum supported resolution of the video card :
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    You shouldn't have a problem, but check with the monitor manufacturer first.
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    1280x1024 is not the max resolution of your card, thats likely the max for the monitor its connected too.

    Update your drivers before getting the new monitor: http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownlo...px?type=2.4.1&product=2.4.1.3.13&lang=English

    The Catalyst Control Center(CCC) will provide several 16:9 and 16:10 resolutions and will be accessible by right clicking on the desktop and choosing Catalyst Control Center - this method should allow you to see some extra resolutions with your current monitor if you go the Force option in the CCC.

    ATI Tray Tools can also be used to add custom resolutions if the ATI drivers does not list a certain resolution: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=275077
     
  6. slavito007

    slavito007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Thank you for the reply. It is good to know that is not the max resolution of my video card. And yes I updated the drivers. But now I have other hesitations. For example, is it worth buying 16:9 monitor? Because my budget is very limited and I cannot afford a 16:9 monitor bigger that 20 inches. When I saw them live they seemed very small unlike their pictures in the internet :D Or probably it is good to stick to the 4:3 format and look for something like that. What do you think?
    And if it is not against the forum rules, could you suggest a specific brand which you think is better? Thank you.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    There isn't many 4:3 monitors left for sale, most have gone wide-screen.
     
  8. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Sites that cater to businesses still sell 4:3 monitors, but you'll pay more for them than you would a comparable sized 16:9 monitor.
     
  9. slavito007

    slavito007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    OK now I've chosen this model and it is almost firm: SAMSUNG SM-2243NW (LS22MYNKBB)
    It is 16:10 and it is 22 inches. What do you think? Should I buy it?
    I won't have problems with the resolution 1680 X 1050, will I?
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Don't believe it'll be a problem with up to date drivers.
     
  11. slavito007

    slavito007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Hello again. I found out from the sticker on my videocard that the exact model name is X550. This way I could find its full specification on the manufacturer's site. It supports resolutions up to 2048x1536 pixels. I am marking this tread solved. Thank you again all. :)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918478

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice