1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Monitor does not receive signal from computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by andrea12wiu, Aug 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. andrea12wiu

    andrea12wiu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I just moved recently, and upon setting up my computer in my new apartment, my monitor wont work. Everything is receiving power because the power lights are on and it sounds like a normal boot up. However, my screen automatically goes into power save "sleep" mode, and when I press the side control buttom on the monitor, it says that it is not receiving a signal from the computer. I checked the blue VGA cable and made sure it was secure. Nothing seems to work, and Dell wants to charge me $60 for a diagnosis. Please Help!
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    83,940
    Hi and welcome

    Do you hear any beeps when the computer turns on?

    It could be possible that the video card got loose during the move. Would you feel comfortable opening the case? I would check for any loose cables, cards inside there.
     
  3. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,191
    If you are determining that the system is booting up by some lights flashing, Fans running, and Cd/DVD Drawers opening and closing, that is not a true indication of a system booting up. If however you here the POST beep or the normal windows start up Sounds, then the computer is booting. I would try the monitor on a different computer to rule it out as the problem. You could also try a different known good Video Cable to rule that out of the equation.
     
  4. andrea12wiu

    andrea12wiu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Yes, there are beeps when it turns on. It beeps one short beep and then 2 short beeps in a row. Is that normal? Could you walk me through how to take the back panel off? There is also a green light on the back of my tower. Does that mean anything?
     
  5. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    83,940
    To me, those beeps indicate a video error has occurred and the BIOS cannot initialize the video screen to display any information.

    Is it a brand name desktop? Every case is a little different. Do you have the model #?
     
  6. andrea12wiu

    andrea12wiu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Its a Dell Studio 540. The only model info I could find is model DCMA. Does that help or do you need more info? I just bought it last year. I hope with your help, I can just open up the case and tighten some cards and cords.
     
  7. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    83,940
    No, the 540 gives enough info...just need to know, is it the slim model?
     
  8. andrea12wiu

    andrea12wiu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Um no I don't think it is the slim model. Its like 7 inches wide.
     
  9. Chris A

    Chris A

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Messages:
    3,212
    One other thing to check is to ensure none of the pins were bent on the cable that plugs into your computer.. I have seen it before.
     
  10. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    83,940
    Alrighty.

    Power off the PC.

    Check the back of the tower. Do you see any screws that look to be holding the side panels in place?

    Normally there is one on the top and bottom.

    Older Dells would have an oval shaped button on the top and bottom of the tower.
     
  11. andrea12wiu

    andrea12wiu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Yes, there are 2 screws on each side that are holding the side panels on. There are not any oval buttons on the top or bottom.
     
  12. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    83,940
    Okay good.

    First, remove all power cords that are connected to the computer case.
    (This includes network cables, modems, printers, etc…Wait a few seconds as the power leaves the main board.)
    Make sure your hands are clean and definitely DRY. Remove any jewelry.
    Open your computer case by unscrewing those 2 screws on the left side. Slide the panel off. Keep any screws or spare parts in a safe place.
    To protect your computer from static electricity stored on your body, continually touch the unpainted metal part of the case to discharge any static. This will prevent the static sensitive components from being ruined. (memory, video card, motherboard)
    Now you are ready to work on the insides of your computer.
     
  13. andrea12wiu

    andrea12wiu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Okay. I slid thhe right side panel off an am now looking at the inside of my computer. I took all my jewelry off and did everything you said. Now what? Its kind of dusty in here. How do I clean it? I have a can of compressed gas duster. Can I use that?
     
  14. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    83,940
    Yes, specifically on any fans and vents.

    Make sure that there are no loose screws or other components inside the case.

    Check for any loose cables, any that are pinched and twisted.

    Depending on how many expansion cards may be inside the computer (such as the video card or network card), we want to make sure they are seated properly and fully in their slots on the motherboard.

    If you feel comfortable, you could even remove the card and reseat it into the slot. This goes for the memory modules too.
     
  15. andrea12wiu

    andrea12wiu Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Well I'm not really sure what I'm looking for. Where woulld the video card be located? There are a lot of cords in here. Some of them are connected to the motherboard and some are just hanging which I'm assuming means either they don't need to be plugged in or they came loose. Should I just start making sure everything is plugged in securely?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/944500