1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Motherboard and Graphics card compatibility

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by english tea, Nov 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. english tea

english tea Thread Starter

iv been having problems with my computer locking up. im beginning to think that my mother board isn't compatible with my graphics card (because iv tried everything else). i have an abit ax78 mobo and 9800 GTX+ graphics card.

its my first build so i wouldn't be surprised if i overlooked something and these components aren't compatible.

any help would be greatly appreciated

:confused:

2. BG-0

BG-0

What is your power supply? Did you check through Crucial's website that your RAM is compatible with the mobo? What have you tried to do to fix the situation? Have you applied only a thin layer/a blob of the size of a BB of thermal paste?

3. english tea

this is what it says on the crucial website:

Feature: DDR2 PC2-5300

my ram is 1066mhz - (PC2-8500)
    could this be the problem?

i renewed my thermal paste with a bb size blob of silver 5. i got 2 more case fans just incase it was an overheating issue. and i updated all drivers. i have a 750w Win Power psu

thanks BG-O for replying. i think it was you who helped me last time. (this is the same problem)

heres a link to my ram for more specs
    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?CRU-T642GK

edit- crucial also says its compatible with DDR2 SDRAM Frequencies: PC2-5300, PC2-6400 and PC2-8500 so i guess thats not the problem

4. BG-0

BG-0

The link shows RAM that is not 1066 MHz, it's DDR2 800 (PC2 6400), and according to Crucial website it is compatible with your board.