Solved: motherboard drivers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

stupidme

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2004
Messages
116
I do not have the original drivers for my msi motherboard so I downloaded the live update from msi to c/program files.. and then copied that to a cd. Is this sufficient in case I ever need to reformat the hard drive? :confused:

Thanks..
 
Joined
May 29, 2005
Messages
727
ope, that wont do you a bit of good, tell me what motherboard you have, we will find the drivers, you can download them, then burn them to a CD
 
Joined
May 29, 2005
Messages
727
the updater tool is not for drivers. i will look up your card and send you a link.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2006
Messages
100
On an MSI motherboard the model number is usually silk-screened between the second and third PCI slots (the white ones). Would you be able to take the side off your computer and tell us what it says there including the version number? Chrono16 is right, the app you downloaded will do you no good should you need to re-load drivers from a disk.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
microwally said:
On an MSI motherboard the model number is usually silk-screened between the second and third PCI slots (the white ones). Would you be able to take the side off your computer and tell us what it says there including the version number? Chrono16 is right, the app you downloaded will do you no good should you need to re-load drivers from a disk.
Am I missing something here, I recently reformated a friends computer, downloaded the motherboard drivers, copied them to cd then loaded them to the newly formated hard drive.
I had no problems why can't stupidme do the same thing?
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2006
Messages
100
bigbear said:
Am I missing something here, I recently reformated a friends computer, downloaded the motherboard drivers, copied them to cd then loaded them to the newly formated hard drive.
I had no problems why can't stupidme do the same thing?
I may be wrong, but I believe all that stupidme downloaded was a little application that would send him via internet to a download and install area of the MSI website. My argument is that if he needed to re-install drivers before he had an internet connection established, a cd with basic tried and true drivers would be his best option. I have used that MSI live update in the past, and experience with it tells me that sometimes the older drivers work better with my set-ups. Stupidme's results may vary though.
 

stupidme

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2004
Messages
116
it is MS 6787 ver: 2... and yes I downloaded the updated drivers to c/program files and copied them to cd for future use. It seems I have created a bit of controversy here. If it is original drivers I need then I am s.o.l.. as I do not have them.. but if there is a place to get them then I will be happy to download them too. The journey continues.

Thanks for all the opinions..
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
All LiveUpdate does is download the drivers. It does NOT caontain any drivers itself.

You will not be able to get online without the Ethernet card drivers so you must at least download those.

You really shoudl download all these drivers: http://www.msi.com.tw/program/support/driver/dvr/spt_dvr_detail.php?UID=456&kind=1

Then you also need the video card drivers and any drivers for any add-in cards like dial-up modems and the what not.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
stupidme said:
it is MS 6787 ver: 2... and yes I downloaded the updated drivers to c/program files and copied them to cd for future use. It seems I have created a bit of controversy here. If it is original drivers I need then I am s.o.l.. as I do not have them.. but if there is a place to get them then I will be happy to download them too. The journey continues.

Thanks for all the opinions..
Is this what you are looking for

http://www.msi.com.tw/program/support/download/dld/spt_dld_detail.php?UID=586&kind=1
 

stupidme

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2004
Messages
116
here is what I have in program files and on cd..Live update 3 w/ATI. Flash Utility,Lang,LBios,LDriver,LIA,LMonitor(image),LOSD,LUtility,LVGABios,LVGADrv, msi.files (free DOS), image and warn....

Am I still missing something? I am way low on the learning curve guys.. thanks for the help.
 

stupidme

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2004
Messages
116
Ok bigbear.. I went and dl all of the drivers in your link and saved them in a folder labeled "drivers". Now can I simply copy them to a disc or do I have to open and run the zipped files. I do very little with zipped files and how to work with them.:eek:
 
Joined
May 29, 2005
Messages
727
Yes, you actually do have to open the files, and extract the drivers, but there should be executables, which would make it much easier...


someone please give them more help, as i dont have enough time, i just know that hyaving the driver CD is a heck of alot easier ;)

Thanx Dudes & Dudettes
-ChRoNo16
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top