1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Motherboard problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mlippertl5, Oct 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mlippertl5

    mlippertl5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I have a motherbored out of a dell.

    And I had and empty case sitin around so I hooked it up and when you push the power button on the case the fan on the bored starts to spin but after a sec or to it shuts off.
    Is is something im doing wrong or is it the motherbored?
     
  2. caelcormac

    caelcormac

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Double check that the jumpers for the power are correctly connected to the motherboard
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,173
    First of all, dells are proprietary. The older ones use a proprietary power supply as well. You cannot just install a dell mb into a standard atx case and expect it to work. Very often the pci/agp/pci-e slots will not line up, wrong type pw supply, etc.

    Are you attempting to use a dell case or a standard case? Are you using a dell pw supply or a standard pw supply?
     
  4. mlippertl5

    mlippertl5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    i am useing a old e machine case
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,173
    Those are pretty much standard atx or micro cases. FWIW I would not waste time with something like this. If you are doing this for experience, then fine; it can be a good learning experience. If you are attempting to build a system for use, IMO it is a waste of time.

    If you really really want to see if it will work, I would attempt an out of the case pw up of the board. This will tell you if it is a mounting problem or a board problem. In any case, you need to make sure of what pw supply that board needs; dell or standard atx.
     
  6. mlippertl5

    mlippertl5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I got it to work, I was useing a standard atx power supply. I dug out a dell power supply and it powered right up with no problem.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Motherboard problem
  1. YohanChamu
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    96
  2. Samy22
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    143
  3. eddiek1000
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    103
  4. Khaledtak
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    584
  5. isksisksisk
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    167
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/755532

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice