1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] mouse stopped

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by etaf, Oct 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I have an old pc
    (see post on working out cpu speed)

    with a serial mouse (ps2 logitec through an adapter). so i tried a new ps2 mouse and it didnt work...
    i tried the new mouse and adapter on a different pc - did not work.
    tried just the ps2 mouse and it was ok...
    so suspected the adapter,
    bought a new serial mouse - tested on laptop all worked ok - so tried in old pc still not working

    windows ME, device manager, serial mouse ! not working
    removed device
    add/new hardware - auto detect - did not detect
    manual set standard serial mouse loaded, rebooted, still not detecting mouse.
    suspected serial port
    so using bios - auto set to (cant remember exactly but 1 port at 2F and the other at 3F)
    still not detecting mouse

    motherboard is p51430tx titanium 1b+

    any ideas
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Some mice will only work with the adapter that comes with them.....

    Do the serial ports show up in device manager?
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes the coms ports are in device manager
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Have the serial ports worked in the past?
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes, they have always had the mouse on them
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the original mouse (logitic ps2 with adapter into serial port) stopped working.
    replaced with another mouse and still did not work
    so replaced with serial mouse - so bypassadapter
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Well, they can and do go out.

    What IRQ is being assigned for each via device manager? And are those IRQs being shared with anything else?
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i assigned the settings in bios

    serial1 @ 2f8/irq3
    serial2 @ 3f8/irg4
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Yes, that is fine unless windows has something else assigned there.

    Are you able to post your IRQ listing? Start, run, msinfo32, hardware, irqs.
     
  10. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Is the ps2 port enabled in the bios? Try going to the bios default settings and see if it'll enable the ports, also the failsafe and performance settings.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i have a list of irg's

    irg0
    through to
    irg15

    all labeled status ok

    the comms port are
    irg3 & 4


    i can try and copy and type them all if needed
     
  12. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    They can say status ok, and still share with another item. I've never had success in connecting anything to a serial port if it's sharing with something else. Just had an issue with my backup power supply on com 1 with something else thinking it wanted IRQ 3 too........major fight to break them up :D
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the pc does not have a ps2 connector, hence the siral port, i'll have alook in the bios
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so how can i tell if sharing,
    i have 2 irq9's
    irq holder for pci steering
    generic pci modem

    i have 2 irq10's
    irq holder for pci steering
    s3 virge pci (325)

    i have 2 irg 14
    intel pci bus master ide controller
    primary ide controller

    2 irq 15
    intel pci bus master ide controller
    secondary ide controller
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Doesn't sound like anything sharing that matters.

    I'd say you have hardware failure.......more than likely. Is there history or did they just stop working one day?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171669

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice