Solved: Moved win 7 system from Domain to Workgroup and can't log in

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

David4321

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
17
I just left my old domain (server was retired some time ago) on my Windows 7 laptop, and created a workgroup to move it into. I was using domain administrator account and password consistently on this machine, and when I did this. I was prompted for Administrator account name and password before windows would make this change, so I thought everything would be ok. Password succeeded.

Now system boots to login page displaying icon and existing name for the computer. (computer was named before joining domain long ago). No other icons are available, no link to log into other accounts, and no password entry field is present (I didn't initially create a password for new workgroup). When I click icon, "welcome" appears briefly, then "logging off", then I am taken back to same login screen. Shutdown options appear in lower right, but only include shut down, hibernate, sleep, and restart; no option for log off or change user.

F8 > Last known good config yields same result. I can log in on safe mode, but windows explorer is not present in start menu or task bar, and start menu left (main) panel is featureless above all programs. Control panel and standard options appear in start menu right panel. I can start explorer from search field, and full directory structure in accessible. Computer named account is shown to be administrator type. I have option available to create a password, but don't want to make things worse.

I want to be able to log onto this account on computer normally, without reinstalling windows. This is my only objective at this time. I don't actually need to be in a workgroup, but that seemed the only way to leave domain. My purpose in leaving domain was so I could create a homegroup to connect with virtualized windows 7 on my linux desktop system, and to avoid other annoyances that have come up with being in domain.

Guidance please? Thanks in advance...
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
13,622
You may want to change the account so that it does not automatically log on. In Safe Mode, type in "netplwiz" and checkmark the box "User must enter a username and password to use this computer". See if that helps.
 

David4321

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
17
Thanks for the reply. No luck with that.

However, in the meantime I was able to create an additional administrator account to gain access to non-safe mode. This works. Also I had already added a password to locked out account, so "use password" box was already checked in netplwiz, and password prompt appears on logon screen, but result there is the same.

When I did what you suggested, I was surprised to see 3 user accounts, including one labelled "nx". Could that be something suspicious or the original domain account? The other two are the account I mentioned above and what I believe to be the original account. When I created the temp account, only the original and the (inactive) guest account were present.

Finally, what could I stand to lose if I just make the new admin account the default account and just repopulate the personal folders from the drive? Maybe I should do that and just delete the other two accounts?

Thanks again.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
13,622
I don't see anything wrong with using your new account as the main one. You can easily copy over the documents etc from the non-working one.

The nx account is a bit worrisome. Maybe it is an domain account of your co-workers ?
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,185
If I remember right, the nx account is a system networking account.
You will find many hit when doing a Google.
 

David4321

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
17
Thanks for the responses. I was able to log on to new account from safe mode, create new administrator account, and move all files there. Then deleted all other accounts.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top