1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Movie

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by dano_61, Feb 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,267
    Hello

    I rented a movie and i am trying to play it on my computer but it won't play. Usually they start up automatically but this one doesnt. Even when i hit the play button on the main menu on the movie nothing happens ?

    Dan
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Howdy,

    Has it played rented movies before??
     
  3. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,267
    yes it has and i tried the movie on my tv DVD player and it worked
     
  4. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Does it recognize it in My Computer?
     
  5. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,267
    yes and it will open the movie but when i click play nothing happens. Could it be the Macro flash player
     
  6. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    What player are you using.....

    Try lowering your screen resolution
     
  7. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,267
    I changed screen resolution no help.Not sure which player it is, comes up as flash macromedia icon
     
  8. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,267
    How do i check to make sure my settings are right for movie to start up when i insert movie
     
  9. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
  10. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,267
    I ran the autoplay wizard, no success
     
  11. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,267
    UPDATE

    I changed my default media player to windows media player but when i tried to play the movie i got this below

    "Windows Media Player cannot play the DVD because a compatible DVD decoder is not installed on your computer."
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I think some newer DVD's have "improved" copy protection to prevent you from copying/playing them on a computer.
     
  13. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,267
    Thanks John

    Well i can understand copying but why stop people from playing a movie, what if a person's computer monitor and computer are the same, can i find a decoder for this
     
  14. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
  15. dano_61

    dano_61 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,267
    SUCCESS

    I downloaded a DVD player program (AVS DVD PLAYER ) and it worked, thanks Bonk for your help and patience. i love it when a plan comes together.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/542655

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice