Solved: Mozilla Firefox will not start

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

trishyorke

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
53
Hi there

For some reason my Mozilla Firefox is getting an error message - will not start and I get this prompt
(sorry for long cut & paste...not sure what to do here - I have put a double line in before and after what I pasted here)

=================================================================
Follow these steps to troubleshoot problems with your computer's hard disk.

This problem was caused by Windows not being able to open a file on your computer's hard disk. This might be a temporary condition that could go away after restarting your computer, or it could be a more serious problem with your hard disk or its driver.

What is a hard disk?

The primary storage device located inside a computer. Also called a hard drive or hard disk drive, it is where your files and programs are typically stored.

What are drivers?

A device driver is software that enables hardware or devices (such as a printer, mouse, or keyboard) to work with your computer. Every device needs a driver in order for it to work.


Troubleshooting

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


To troubleshoot this problem, follow these steps:

Restart your computer

When you restart your computer, Windows will automatically check your disk for errors, and will try to recover any files that are located on damaged areas on the disk.

If the problem persists after you restart you computer, try the next step.

Run the hard disk error-checking tool

You can help solve some computer problems and improve the performance of your computer by checking your hard disk for errors. Follow these steps to run the hard disk error-checking tool:

Click the Start button , and then click Computer.

Right-click the hard disk drive that you want to check, and then click Properties.

Click the Tools tab, and then, under Error-checking, click Check Now. If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.

Select Automatically fix file system errors and Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors.

Click Start.

When prompted to schedule the disk check to occur after a restart, click Schedule disk check.

Restart your computer.

Note: Depending upon the size of your hard disk, the disk check might take several minutes.

After your computer restarts and the error check has run, review the summary report for any bad sectors or files that were repaired.

If the report cites any bad sectors that cannot be repaired, this usually means there is a problem with the hard disk itself. If this is the case, you should back up your data immediately and install a new hard disk. Read the Windows Help article Methods for backing up your files for more information about backing up your hard disk.

If there were no reported problems and you continue to see the same error, then your computer might have a problem with its file system. See the next step for some suggestions.

What you can do if the problem is being caused by the Windows file system

If you've followed the steps above and suspect there is a problem with the computer's file system, there are a few things you can try:

Contact your computer manufacturer for support.

How do I find my computer manufacturer (OEM)?

You can find the name of your computer manufacturer (also known as the original equipment manufacturer or OEM) by following these steps:

Click the Start button , right-click Computer, and then click Properties. Your computer manufacturer's information is listed under OEM Info.

If you do not see your computer manufacturer information, click the Start button , type msinfo32 in the Search box, and then press ENTER. Your computer manufacturer is listed in the right pane of the System Information window.

Click to go online to see contact information for most computer manufacturers

Bring your computer to a professional repair shop.

Read the Windows Help article What to do if Windows won't start correctly, which includes additional troubleshooting steps.


Advanced troubleshooting

Caution This section is intended for advanced computer users, such as software developers and network administrators. If you are not comfortable with advanced troubleshooting procedures, we recommend you consult someone who is before going further.

Find the file that is causing the error and then try to open it

Click the Start button .
In the Search box, type EVENTVWR, and then press ENTER. If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.
In Event Viewer, double-click Windows Logs, and then click Application.
Click the Source column heading to list all the Application Error sources at the top of the list.
Search for an event with a source of Application Error and an event ID of 1005.
Double-click this event.
The file that cannot be opened will be listed in the section at the top. Write down the file name, and then close Event Properties.
Click the Start button , and then, in the Search box type the file name. Once your computer finds the file, try to open it by clicking the name of the file in the search results list. The problem might have been temporary and might not occur when the program runs again. If you are unable to open the file, go to the next step.

=================================================================

In a nutshell, I try to fix according to above and have restarted my computer numerous times - can't find a report and the only way I can now get online is with IE but I prefer Firefox and wonder why all of a sudden this has happened. I do the "automatic" updates for my Windows Vista.

Thanks so much for anyone who can make sense here!

Trish
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,487
Suggest you make a copy of your Firefox profile to make sure you don't lose it and then uninstall Firefox and install it again.
 

trishyorke

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
53
"My Firefox Profile"...what is this? I'm not big into computers, so if it's favorites and such like that I have about 10 so I can easily mark them down - is there anything else important i should save?

Thanks for your reponse!

Trish
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,487
Bookmarks (or "Favorites" as Microsoft calls them) are the important thing. With only 10 you're probably better off not getting into the complication of saving the profile. When you uninstall Firefox (if that works properly) you should get the option to keep your data anyhow. My suggestion to make a copy was just for safety in case you had 100's of bookmarks.

OTOH if you don't keep the old Firefox data, after installing the new version the first time you run it you should get the opportunity to import your IE Favorites.
 

davehc

David
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
2,059
The profile may conatin the problem, also.
If you want to save the bookmarks to another location, open users - username - Appdata - Roaming - Mozilla - FireFox - Profiles.
Select the first folder on the lisy, it will have a strange name like y22af4hv.default.
Inside that folder will be an item call bookmarks.html. Save that and, then delete Firefox. When you have reinstalled, copy the Bookmarks folder back to the same location. (overwrite when requested)
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,487
The thread is now marked "solved." Is it? And, what was the solution, please?

davehc, you are correct about bookmarks.html prior to Firefox 3. In Firefox 3 they are in a database file called places.sqlite.
 

davehc

David
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
2,059
I am using Firefox 3.01. I frequently replace my OS with an image. I still transfer the Bookmarks using Bookmarks html.
 

davehc

David
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
2,059
OK. I am using Firefox 3.01. I must confess that I have configured it with "about:config" so they remain in the same place.
I frequently replace my OS with an Image, and transfer the bookmarks as above.
(I suspect the OP may be using an older version?)
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,487
For those of us who have not configured Firefox 3.0.1 with "about:config" the bookmarks.html file is the original "raw" file placed there by the install. The "modified" date is the date of the install, and the contents are the original. We can, of course, transfer bookmarks by export/import bookmarks.html.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top