1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Mozilla FireFox Won't Start

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by bonniescot, Oct 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bonniescot

    bonniescot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    111
    Hi there

    I have just downloaded Mozilla Firefox (first time ). When I click on the Icon to open it, nothing happens. It just flickers, but never opens, no matter how many times I click on it. No error messages, nothing. I'm on Windows XP.

    Has anybody got any ideas? Other posts I've seen, deals with error messages when trying to open Firefox. Mine just won't open, full stop.

    Thanks in advance

    Meg, Scotland. :confused:
     
  2. LauraMJ

    LauraMJ Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    12,653
    Just need to clarify something.

    Did you save it to your computer, and if so, is it the icon to install it that you are talking about clickin on?

    Or, is it already installed on your computer, and you are clicking on the FF desktop icon to open a browser?
     
  3. 24giovanni

    24giovanni Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,083
  4. bonniescot

    bonniescot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    111
    Hi Laura

    I have installed it on the computer. I'm getting this problem, when I click the desktop icon to open the application. Hope this helps :)
     
  5. JayT

    JayT

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Sounds as if you might have a corrupted file. Uninstall Firefox, delete the FF profile, delete the FF folder in C:/Programs and reinstall it. (To delete the FF profile, make sure that you can see all files. Open My Computer, click on C drive,
    click on Documents and settings, your name, applications, and delete the mozilla folder).
     
  6. bonniescot

    bonniescot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks JayT

    I have done that, still with the same result I'm afraid. It also won't open in Safe Mode either. Really stumped.

    Meg, Scotland.
     
  7. Glaswegian

    Glaswegian Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,823
    Hi meg

    Does Internet Explorer open OK?. Any problems with other programmes? As JayT said try a re-install, but I would try to download the file again, just in case your original download was corrupt.

    Regards
     
  8. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    20,583
    Hi Meg,

    Which version of Firefox did you download:
    Firefox 1.0.7 or 1.5 Beta 2?

    If you downloaded 1.5 Beta 2, you should uninstall it and download version 1.0.7 until the 1.5 Release is ready for distribution to the Internet as 1.5 Beta 2 is still undergoing Beta testing.

    -- Tom
     
  9. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    20,583
    Hi Meg,

    Which version of Firefox did you download:
    Firefox 1.0.7 (for Windows) or 1.5 Beta 2 (Windows) ?

    If you downloaded 1.5 Beta 2, you should uninstall it and download version 1.0.7 until the 1.5 Release is ready for distribution to the Internet as 1.5 Beta 2 is still undergoing Beta testing.

    -- Tom
     
  10. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    20,583
    Hi Meg,

    Which version of Firefox did you download:
    Firefox 1.0.7 (for Windows) or 1.5 Beta 2 (Windows) ?

    If you downloaded 1.5 Beta 2, you should uninstall it and download version 1.0.7 until the 1.5 Release is ready for distribution to the Internet as 1.5 Beta 2 is still undergoing Beta testing, and as such may not be as stable as v1.0.7.

    -- Tom
     
  11. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    20,583
    Hi Meg,

    Which version of Firefox did you download:
    Firefox 1.0.7 (for Windows) or 1.5 Beta 2 (Windows)?

    If you downloaded 1.5 Beta 2, you should uninstall it and download version 1.0.7 until the 1.5 Release is ready for distribution to the Internet as 1.5 Beta 2 is still undergoing Beta testing, and as such may not be as stable as v1.0.7.

    -- Tom
     
  12. bonniescot

    bonniescot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    111
    Hi there

    Thanks everyone for feedback. It was not the Beta version that I downloaded, it was the 1.0.7. version. Also I have uninstalled and re-installed it several times. Still same result as first mentioned. No other problems with programmes and IE is running just fine. Apart from a problem with Photosuite 2, but I submitted a seperate thread for that. Thanks again

    Meg, Scotland.
     
  13. Glaswegian

    Glaswegian Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,823
    Meg

    Did you actually download again? Perhaps your original download was corrupted?
     
  14. bonniescot

    bonniescot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    111
    Hiya

    Yes, I have done this a few times, same result I'm afraid. Perhaps it's a spam-blocker or a conflicting programme to blame. Other than that, it's got me foxed (pardon the pun hahaha).
     
  15. bonniescot

    bonniescot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    111
    Problem Solved. It was another conflicting programme that was causing the problem. Firefox Now opens no bother, when I close the other programme. Thanks for all the advice anyway :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/412467