1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: MS Access - How to get a field auto-update based on date entered in a form

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by duBe68, Oct 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. duBe68

duBe68 Thread Starter

Hello,
    Firstly, let me apologise, I'm a complete Access noob & am trying to teach myself as I've got no one to help me in person.

Ok,
    I'm trying to build a Time Sheet database that should record daily duties via an entry form:
    "frm_Work_Hours"

This form updates an underlying table:
    "Work_Hours"

The date field of the "Work_Hours" table is:
    "Date_Worked"

However, workers get paid fortnightly and all their entitlements, allowances & overtime are calculated on these fortnightly periods. To be more specific, the workers are paid for a certain amount of overtime for each fortnight upfront & when they exceed that, then they are entitled to all excess time back in TIME OFF. So it's pretty important that each day's duties are assigned to the correct fortnight period so that their overtime & so-forth are calculated correctly.

Each fortnightly period is numbered according to year. For example, each year there are 26 fortnightly periods, so as an example today (3rd October 2013) falls in period 2013-19 (23rd September 2013 to 6th October 2013).

I've created a table called:
    "tbl_Pay_Period"

Which has the following Fields:
    "ID" (Auto-number)
    "Period_Start" (date - the first day of each new fortnight period)
    "Period_Number" (number - eg: 2013-19)

Back in the "Work_Hours" table, I inserted a new (Number) FIELD called:
    "Pay_Period"

and set it's LOOKUP to:
    Display Control: List Box
    Row Source Type: Table/Query