1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: MS Access - Tabbed MainForm - How to make a form open a form in multiple mode

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by duBe68, Oct 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. duBe68

duBe68 Thread Starter

Hello,
    thanks for taking a look at this thread, any help will be greatly appreciated by a complete Noob.

I've been given a LOT of help by members of this Forum (especially OBP) with a DB I'm making as a first look at any type of IT product, and I'm very grateful, so thank you all.

Recently, I was advised to take a look at the "Tabbed" style of "MainForm" instead of the "Switchboard" style I originally used. I must say, I really like the tabbed style much more than the switchboard but I've hit one hurdle that I can't seem to overcome.

In the Switchboard style, I was able to set a form to load in either DATA ENTRY = YES or DATA ENTRY = NO mode depending on which sub-switchboard the user selected. For example, I had a ENTER NEW sub-switchboard that all forms would open in DATA ENTRY = YES mode & I had another EDIT EXISTING sub-switchboard that all forms would open in DATA ENTRY = NO mode.

However, with the new tabbed style, I cannot set the form load type for separate tabbs, it will only accept the LAST type as the GLOBAL type. Example, on the ENTER NEW tab, I set the form to load as DATA ENTRY = YES & sets the form to open in DATA ENTRY = YES on both tabs, then I go to the EDIT EXISTING tab & set the same form to DATA ENTRY = NO & it sets the form to open in both tabs in DATA ENTRY = NO mode.

So, my question is:
    Can I set the same form to load differently on different tabs on the same MainForm?
    If so, would you mind letting me know how this is done please?