[SOLVED] MS IE has encountered a problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Ranchergirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2000
Messages
37
Upon arriving on any website (even this one) I get a message "Microsoft Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and need to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience." It then asks to send error report or not. When I send error report it closes down everything. It also has a link to error details and fix. At first it told me that there was no fix, but to update to ie 98 se SP1, which I did. But no change. In all msgs it states the problem is Mod name: sbus.dll Mod ver: 1.0.0.3 offset 00008a5d. Now I just move the msg to the bottom of the screen instead of clicking on close error rpt and continue on without any interruptions. I have tried the Internet Repair Tool and still no change. Thanks for the help.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
You have spyware\malware

Please Download and install SpyBot,

http://security.kolla.de/

click the online tab to search for and download the updates, then shut down and relaunch SpyBot.

Go to the Settings tab > File Sets, and uncheck 'System Internals' and 'Tracks' .
These aren't needed for our present purpose, and you can always experiment with them later on.

Finally, after closing down Internet Explorer, click 'Check for problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds 'Fix selected problems'

you may have to run spybot more than once to clear everything

Remove everything pre-ticked in Red

---------
If you still have problems...........

Please Download hijackthis

http://tomcoyote.org/hjt

Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

After the scan has finished the "scan" button will turn into a "save log" button

save the log file and paste it here

steam
 

Ranchergirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2000
Messages
37
here ya go..............

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
Scan saved at 11:43:46 AM, on 9/21/03
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
C:\SBPCI\CTMIX32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\OUTLOOK EXPRESS\MSIMN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\DW15.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer,SearchURL = about:blank
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = about:blank
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = about:blank
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = about:blank
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = about:blank
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://rd.yahoo.com/slv/ycheck/as/*http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=%s
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {13F537F0-AF09-11d6-9029-0002B31F9E59} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\YCOMP5_0_2_3.DLL
O2 - BHO: sbus Helper - {19A447BA-9C2E-4864-93F5-A0645229771E} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SBUS.DLL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {00000273-8230-4DD4-BE4F-6889D1E74167} - C:\WINDOWS\HOST.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Yahoo! Companion - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\YCOMP5_0_2_3.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: SearchBus.com Bar - {1B13BF1B-A528-4CC4-B5BF-553CAA6487AC} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SBUS.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CreativeMixer] C:\SBPCI\ctmix32.exe /T
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MSN Messenger Service (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: Dialpad US Java Applet - http://www.dialpad.com/applet/src/vscp.cab
O16 - DPF: {78960E0E-0B0C-11D4-8997-00104BD12D94} (AV Class) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/antivirus/PCPAV.CAB
O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
O16 - DPF: {970C7E08-05A7-11D0-89AA-00A0C9054129} (XWebCtl Object) - http://activex.microsoft.com/activex/controls/directx/xweb.ocx
O16 - DPF: {E9DDEC2F-13DF-4C22-BC48-0284AA5B8E45} (Spotlife Player) - http://yahoo.spotlife.net/install/pobi/SLPlayer/1.3.0.39/SLPlayer.cab
O16 - DPF: {6B4788E2-BAE8-11D2-A1B4-00400512739B} (PWMediaSendControl Class) - http://216.249.25.152/code/PWActiveXImgCtl.CAB
O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (sys Class) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37594.2404282407
O16 - DPF: {DF6A0F17-0B1E-11D4-829D-00C04F6843FE} (Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control) - http://officeupdate.microsoft.com/TemplateGallery/downloads/outc.cab
O16 - DPF: {C2FCEF52-ACE9-11D3-BEBD-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class) - http://security.symantec.com/SSC/SharedContent/common/bin/cabsa.cab
O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/borris/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
O16 - DPF: {6EB5B540-1E74-4D91-A7F0-5B758D333702} (nCaseInstaller Class) - http://bis.180solutions.com/activexinstallers/410/nCaseInstaller.cab
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\VxD\MSTCP: SearchList = roots-servers.net
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
There's your problem

O2 - BHO: sbus Helper - {19A447BA-9C2E-4864-93F5-A0645229771E} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SBUS.DLL

O3 - Toolbar: SearchBus.com Bar - {1B13BF1B-A528-4CC4-B5BF-553CAA6487AC} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SBUS.DLL

O2 - BHO: (no name) - {00000273-8230-4DD4-BE4F-6889D1E74167} - C:\WINDOWS\HOST.DLL


close all browser windows
Run hijack this and tick to fix the above

I have to go off-line for a while now - I'll check through the rest of the log when I get - if nobody else has - ok

steam
 

Ranchergirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2000
Messages
37
YAHOO!!!! You Tech Guys are the best. I am now spyware free and lovin it. I installed the Spybot and it asked me if it was ok to run in the background. I said yes. Does that mean it is going to catch and destroy future spies? So I don't have to worry about this happening again? Thanks again for sharing your brain. kissy, kissy
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
It doesn't need to run in the background.

Just run the program every few weeks or so, depending on your surfing and downloading habits.

The "Immunize" options (ActiveX blocking, "Bad download" blocker) don't require the program itself to be active either in order to function.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top