Solved: MS Office 2007 - message "has not been installed for current user"

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Ram4

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
107
I have Windows Vista Business

I Recently purchsed MS Office ultimate with SP1 and successfully installed it.

It worked just fine.

A few days later I installed 25-40 updates from microsoft.

After reboot when I started any application I got the messge

.." application .. Not installed for current user. Please run setup to install the application"...

I am the only user and I ran as admin / guest but no luck.

I re-installed (repair) - same problem

I un-installed and re-installed .. worked fine. But as soon as I installed updates I got the message.

What is wrong here?

Thanks
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
57
if you are using vista 64 bit, then go to %ProgramFiles(x86)%\Microsoft Office
office 12 => right click on each office applications => properties => run this application as administrator

OR

Turn OFF UAC. that should fix the problem.
 

Ram4

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
107
Slurpee55
----------------
Tried all that is possible but still does not work.

azmak
---------------

I have 32 bit version
Tried both methods ... still does not work
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
7,837
Okay, a few ideas (but I have found a bunch of unhappy users with the same problem)
Uninstall Office, then install all the updates, then install Office.
If that doesn't work, try uninstalling and installing again but with UAC disabled.
 

Ram4

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
107
If I uninstall office, How can I install updates to office?


I have already tried installing (after uninstall) with UAC turned off. It does not work.
 

Ram4

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
107
I tried everything and gave up... I un-instgalled office 2007, deleted all files and directories that were not removed by uninstall. Re-install office and it is working. I have no intentikon to apply updates..

I do not know why Microsoft does not fix this major bug.

One of the articles posted above refers to a perticular update causing the problem. I do not want to testa one update at a time. I'll live with what I got..
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
7,837
I read about another program that was giving the same problems, despite the same thing (only user was admin, etc.) - Vista had decided that there were potential users who did not have rights to use the program and refused to let the admin use it either until he went into the properties and gave all users full rights. Pfui.
Well, I know this isn't really solved, but could you please use the button at the top to mark this thread as Solved, just so others don't come looking to see if they can help?
Thanks! :)
 

Ram4

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
107
I also tried giving all users all rights.. but still did not work..
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
32
I read about another program that was giving the same problems, despite the same thing (only user was admin, etc.) - Vista had decided that there were potential users who did not have rights to use the program and refused to let the admin use it either until he went into the properties and gave all users full rights. Pfui.
Well, I know this isn't really solved, but could you please use the button at the top to mark this thread as Solved, just so others don't come looking to see if they can help?
Thanks! :)
Slurpee55,

I have found a few posts on this topic marked Solved. But the problem hasn't been solved. People give up. Is it possible to mark a thread Closed rather than Solved?

I have the very problem and I can assure you it is not solved.
I was requested to open a new thread which I did.
http://forums.techguy.org/business-applications/806588-program-not-installed-current-user.html

Thanks.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top