1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: MS Office 2007 - message "has not been installed for current user"

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Ram4, Feb 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ram4

    Ram4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    I have Windows Vista Business

    I Recently purchsed MS Office ultimate with SP1 and successfully installed it.

    It worked just fine.

    A few days later I installed 25-40 updates from microsoft.

    After reboot when I started any application I got the messge

    .." application .. Not installed for current user. Please run setup to install the application"...

    I am the only user and I ran as admin / guest but no luck.

    I re-installed (repair) - same problem

    I un-installed and re-installed .. worked fine. But as soon as I installed updates I got the message.

    What is wrong here?

    Thanks
     
  2. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
  3. Ram4

    Ram4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks

    I tried this but it it does NOT work.
     
  4. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Hmmm, do you also have an earlier version of MS Office also installed?
     
  5. Ram4

    Ram4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    No, this is the only version.
     
  6. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
  7. azmak

    azmak

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    if you are using vista 64 bit, then go to %ProgramFiles(x86)%\Microsoft Office
    office 12 => right click on each office applications => properties => run this application as administrator

    OR

    Turn OFF UAC. that should fix the problem.
     
  8. Ram4

    Ram4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Slurpee55
    ----------------
    Tried all that is possible but still does not work.

    azmak
    ---------------

    I have 32 bit version
    Tried both methods ... still does not work
     
  9. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Okay, a few ideas (but I have found a bunch of unhappy users with the same problem)
    Uninstall Office, then install all the updates, then install Office.
    If that doesn't work, try uninstalling and installing again but with UAC disabled.
     
  10. Ram4

    Ram4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    If I uninstall office, How can I install updates to office?


    I have already tried installing (after uninstall) with UAC turned off. It does not work.
     
  11. orangeCat1

    orangeCat1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24
  12. Ram4

    Ram4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    I tried everything and gave up... I un-instgalled office 2007, deleted all files and directories that were not removed by uninstall. Re-install office and it is working. I have no intentikon to apply updates..

    I do not know why Microsoft does not fix this major bug.

    One of the articles posted above refers to a perticular update causing the problem. I do not want to testa one update at a time. I'll live with what I got..
     
  13. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    I read about another program that was giving the same problems, despite the same thing (only user was admin, etc.) - Vista had decided that there were potential users who did not have rights to use the program and refused to let the admin use it either until he went into the properties and gave all users full rights. Pfui.
    Well, I know this isn't really solved, but could you please use the button at the top to mark this thread as Solved, just so others don't come looking to see if they can help?
    Thanks! :)
     
  14. Ram4

    Ram4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    I also tried giving all users all rights.. but still did not work..
     
  15. orangeCat1

    orangeCat1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Slurpee55,

    I have found a few posts on this topic marked Solved. But the problem hasn't been solved. People give up. Is it possible to mark a thread Closed rather than Solved?

    I have the very problem and I can assure you it is not solved.
    I was requested to open a new thread which I did.
    http://forums.techguy.org/business-applications/806588-program-not-installed-current-user.html

    Thanks.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/801434

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice