1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: MS Word - Multiple Headers?

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by rconverse, Feb 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rconverse

    rconverse Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Hello,

    I have created three small Word documents. I created the three documents seperately because I couldn't figure out a way to use the headers in the manner I hoped. Basically, I have a Reference Guide, Appendix A and Appendix B. I would like to have one document with those three headers as applicable. Is this posisble?

    Thank you in advance for any replies.
    Roger
     
  2. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    You need to create a master document for your 3 documents. It will contain, if you desire, a table of contents, index, cross-references, and headers and footers for all of the subdocuments.
     
  3. cristobal03

    cristobal03

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,086
    Actually, you don't need a master document (though it's probably the appropriate tool in this case). You can achieve multiple headers in a single document by using section breaks. The help files should have plenty of information.

    HTH

    chris.
     
  4. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    I thought about section breaks, but, like Chris noted, since you essentially have 3 existing documents, I thought a master and subdocuments would make more sense. Either would work, however. And Chris is right - the Word help files are extremely well documented in these areas.
     
  5. rconverse

    rconverse Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    Ahhh, Breaks. Not sure why I didn't think of investigating that. I must have gotten frustrated from my tunnel vision trying to get the "link to previous" feature to work the way I wanted it to work.

    I think I may try to create this "master" document. Sounds like it may help to make what I am putting together a little more professional.

    Thanks!
    Roger
     
  6. jimr381

    jimr381

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,189
    First Name:
    Jim
    The master documents are great when multiple people are collaborating on one file. It allows you to link to the separate files. If you are just doing the files yourself you might as well combine it into one.
     
  7. rconverse

    rconverse Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    191
    So I created a master document and at first everything looked great. I tried to create a TOC, but received an error stating that no TOC existed. Then I tried to insert one and still got an error saying no TOC found. How the heck do I create a TOC??

    Also, when I reopen the file, I have to expand the subdocuments each time I open the file. Is there a way to have the document open in "normal" view.

    Thanks,
    Roger
     
  8. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/682129

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice