1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: msconfig access denied error

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Timadams, May 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Timadams

Timadams Thread Starter

Dear support team

Please can you help?

I am a novice systems expert running a home PC with XP Home edition SP3

I today updates adobe reader because the system asked me to, It seemed to run okay and may have nothing to do with my subsequent problem. Afterwards I ran MSCONFIG as I often do to restrict the amount of stuff that autostarts at boot time. When I disabled adobe reader (and a couple of other old things), the system reported an error message "An access denied error was returned to change a service - you may need to logon using an administrators account to make the specified changes"

I only have one account - it is the administrators account and has never given this error before.

Everytime I boot the system now, it gives this error message.

If I re-enable all programs to start up at boot time the error message goes away.

HOWEVER - AN MOST WORRYING OF ALL - when I try to start up MS Outlook 2000 (my main email service) the system fails to start with an unspecified error and invites me to log this fault with Microsoft which I do. After doing this, Outlook closes down. It is repeatable and does this every time.

Re the msconfig error, upon seraching the internet it seems to be a common problem when people are running HP drivers for pronters, scanners, etc but I have no pronters or scanners attached to the PC

Please help. If you wish me to run HJT - please remind me what to do as I have not had to bother youn in 4 years and I have forgotten.

Thanks

2. Phantom010

Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

3. Timadams

Timadams Thread Starter