1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: MSE shortcut

Discussion in 'General Security' started by rayacky, Jan 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rayacky

    rayacky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    First Name:
    Ray
    Hello all, only a minor problem?? Today I updated & upgraded MSE and the shortcut dissapeared, any suggestions as to how i can get it back?? Cheers Ray.
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    I upgraded too,but not seeing any way to make a short cut.
    My MSE folder is empty,so they must have integrated it with windows.
    You can still click the ^ in the taskbar and double click the icon to open it.
     
  3. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    which Operating system are you using
    on my W7 computer it is in Program/files/ Microsoft Security client folder & it is called msseces.exe

    right click that & select create shortcut
    BUT it is still on start menu & in sys tray & right click icon in sys tray opens it
     
  4. rayacky

    rayacky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    First Name:
    Ray
    Hi, we have a desktop with XP & a lappy with W7 both suffered the same prblm will look at the fix from dvk01 & report back, thanks so far for your help, cheers Ray..
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Frank
    If "Microsoft Security Essentials" is still in the Start menu, right-click it and then click "Send To - Desktop (Create Shortcut)".

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. calvin-c

    calvin-c Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    If you want a desktop shortcut flavallee's method is easiest (and it is in the Start menu, on my PC at least) but I found that it's not necessary-you can open it from the system tray icon. Of course if you hide that, then you might want the shortcut.
     
  7. rayacky

    rayacky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    First Name:
    Ray
    Thanks to you people who posted, that fixed it from the start menu, easy when you know. Cheers Ray.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/977028

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice