1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: MSI Radeon R5850 Twin Frozr II 1GB

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jelkan, Jan 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jelkan

    Jelkan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Hello, i found this card while looking for a new gfx card
    so im wondering if this card is compatible with my motherboard

    i got a Biostar GF8100 M2+SE

    Specifications for MSI Radeon R5850 Twin Frozr II 1GB

    Graphics Engine ATI Radeon HD 5850
    Bus Standard PCI Express x16 2.1
    Memory Type GDDR5
    Memory Size(MB) 1024
    Memory Interface 256 bits
    Core Clock Speed(MHz) 725
    Memory Clock Speed(MHz) 4000
    Memory Bandwidth(GB/sec) N/A
    Texture Fill Rate(billion/sec) N/A
    DVI Output 1
    D-SUB Output 1(optional, via DVI to D-Sub adaptor)
    TV-Output N/A
    HDMI-Output 1
    Mini HDMI-Output N/A
    DisplayPort 1
    Mini DisplayPort N/A
    VIVO(Video-in/out) N/A
    HDTV Support N/A
    HDCP Support Y
    Dual-link DVI Y
    HDMI Support Y
    Display Ouput(Max Resolution) 2560x1600
    RAMDACs 400
    DirectX Version Support 11
    OpenGL Version Support 3.2
    CrossFire Support Y
    SLI Support N/A
    HyperMemory Tech. N/A
    3-way SLI N/A
    TurboCache tech. N/A
    Card Dimension(mm) 257*106*36mm
    Weight N/A
    GPU Features ?Microsoft DirectX 11 Support
    ?ATI Eyefinity Technology
    ?ATI Stream Technology
    ?40 nm Process Technology
    ?Advanced GDDR5 Memory Technology
    ?2nd Generation TeraScale Engine
    ?Microsoft Windows 7 support
    ?ATI CrossFireX� Technology
    ?Enhanced Anisotropic Filtering
    ?Accelerated Video Transcoding
    ?HDMI 1.3 Support
    ?Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio Support
    ?ATI PowerPlay� Technology Enhanced Support for GDDR5 memory
    ?ATI Avivo� Technology Enhanced Unified Video Decoder 2 (UVD 2)


    Specification for Biostar GF8100 M2+SE

    CPU SUPPORT

    AMD Phenom™ II X4 Processor
    AMD Phenom™ II X3 Processor
    AMD Phenom™ X4 Processor
    AMD Phenom™ X3 Processor
    AMD Athlon™ X2 Dual-Core Processor
    AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor
    AMD Athlon™ 64 FX Processor
    AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor
    AMD Sempron™ Processor
    Maximum CPU TDP (Thermal Design Power) : 95Watt
    HT

    Support HT 5.2G
    MEMORY

    Support Dual Channel DDR2 533/667/800/1066(1066 by AM2+ CPU) MHz
    2 x DDR2 DIMM Memory Slot
    Max. Supports up to 8GB Memory
    ※It is recommended to use those Validated DDR2-1066 modules suggested by AMD
    EXPANSION SLOT

    2 x PCI Slots
    1 x PCI-E x16 2.0 Slot
    STORAGE

    6 x SATA2 3Gb/s Connector
    1 x IDE Connector
    Support SATA RAID: 0,1,5,0+1
    USB

    4 x USB 2.0 Port
    4 x USB 2.0 Header
    LAN

    Realtek RTL8201CL - 10/100 PHY
    INTEGRATED VIDEO

    NVIDIA GeForce 8100 GPU, On Board Graphic Max. Memory Share Up to 512MB(Under OS By Turbo Cache)
    CODEC

    Realtek ALC662 6-Channel HD Audio

    sorry for the bad spec on the mobo, that was the best one i could find

    please let me know if this card is any good and if i should get it

    and im not looking for an extremly good gfx card im just looking for a card capable of playing bad company 2 and cod Black ops on low/normal gfx

    this card i found for a very good price wich is why im asking if i should get it

    Thank you for your time
     
  2. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,601
    Hello there. Technically the card would work with that motherboard. It is just whether it will fit in your PC case and whether you have a power supply that is capable of powering it. If the case is too small then it just won't physically fit into it. If the power supply is not good enough then you could over stress it and cause it to burn out possibly damaging other components with it. You can check the wattage of your PSU (Power Supply Unit) by opening the case and looking at the big sqaure component in either the top or bottom corner of the back of the case. (Where the power plug goes into the case)

    Jack-O-Bytes
     
  3. Jelkan

    Jelkan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    i have a 550w psu so im ok there
    the case is a scaleo Li so im okay there aswell, will be tight but it will fit
     
  4. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,601
    Hey there, Do you know what brand power supply it is though. If it is a cheap brand one then it will probably only be equal to a 350w high quality model.

    Jack-O-Bytes
     
  5. Jelkan

    Jelkan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    rasurbo basic power 550w ,dont know the model name, its like XII-"something"
     
  6. Jelkan

    Jelkan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    im gonna close his thread, the website i found this on had it for 30 bucks but is probal a scam site since they dint have anyways of letting me pay for it, so a failed scam site
    thanks for your help jack
     
  7. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,601
    Hey there, yeah that is fine. If you do get one then you may also need a new power supply to go with it. I have never heard of Rasurbo so it might be worth getting a coolermaster, thermaltake, OCZ, or Corsair power supply with about 550-650w

    Jack-O-Bytes
     
  8. Jelkan

    Jelkan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    isnt cooler master a case?
    or is it both?
     
  9. jack-o-bytes

    jack-o-bytes

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,601
    Yeah coolermaster do both cases and powersupplys. Their power supplys are really high quality and will last ages. Many of them have 5 year warrentys on them as well.

    Jack-O-Bytes
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976648

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice