1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: MsMpEng.exe problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Mike McBain, Apr 16, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 04whitem

    04whitem

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Hi,

    I have just got the same error, when i log on to my cpu in regular mode i receive an error message:

    Title: MsMpEng.exe - Application Error

    The instruction at "0x5a4d684d" referenced memory at "0x000000000". The memory could not be "read".

    Click on OK to terminate the program
    Click on CANCEL to debug the program.


    If i click OK, and try to log on, it never logs on just freezes.
    If i click cancel, i get a blank screen and it freezes.


    I can start the cpu fine in safe mode.


    Any idea how i could fix it?


    Your help will be much appreciated,
    Matt
     
  2. LukeCarrera

    LukeCarrera

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Start your PC in Safe Mode by hitting F8 on startup.

    Once your onto the desktop, go to Start, Run and type in "Services.msc"

    Once that has opened, scroll down to the Microsoft Antimalware Service and right click and properties.

    Changed the startup type to "Disabled" and Stop the service.

    Restart and it should be fine.

    I am currently looking into a solution to stop this from happening when MSE is running.
     
  3. Dbac

    Dbac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    hi guys,
    I had exactly the same error message so this is a feature of MSE. Mine was updated to 4.5.216 which I believe is not compatible with XP any more. A thread further down discusses this. I disabled the "Microsoft Antimalware Service" (as suggested here) and although MSE is disabled now, the PC runs fine.. maybe time to switch to AVG or someother anitvirus package. Cheers Dave
     
  4. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,544
    04whitem
    Hi, you will need to start your own thread.

    Go back to the main Xp page - click on New at the top left and post your question.
     
  5. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,544
    Hi and thanks, you may have the answer to one of their problems.
    (y)
     
  6. piew

    piew

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Hi guys.

    I have the same since this morning on a lot of pc. This c... drive me crazy :eek:. I found that disabling the service "microsoft antimalware" (in safe mode), remove it and reinstall another antivirus solve it (like said in other posts).
     
  7. zyphen

    zyphen

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
  8. unplugit

    unplugit

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Hi All!

    I had the same problems today as well.

    What worked for me: From Safe Mode, open MS Security Essentials and turn off Real Time Behavior Analyzing.

    Restart.



    Hope it helps.
     
  9. labretonne

    labretonne

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Hi
    Another victim of this error. But thanks for all the help. It's worked well. As observed by another contributor, time for an different anti-virus and ultimately a new computer!
     
  10. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,824
    The MGA Diagnostic report doesn't appear to be complete. Please post the entire log.

    Also, what is the make of model of this PC please.
     
  11. Mike McBain

    Mike McBain Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    398
    bluesharp & LukeCarrera

    I disabled that miscrosoft antimalware and everything appears normal now.

    Many thanks for all your help - much appreciated.

    Mike.
     
  12. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,824
    Yes but you've now left the security program disabled so it won't be protecting you fully.

    You need to either uninstall MSE and install something else or fix the initial problem without disabling protection.
     
  13. Mike McBain

    Mike McBain Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    398
    Cookiegal

    Sorry but I have no idea what the Make & Model of that PC are? Maybe if I could get at the back of the box there would be something but it's poked in under my desk with short cables everywhere? Will try to check later today.

    Your point about the Security disabled is noted and I will try to check why my annual auto renewal virus checker doesn't appear to be on this machine anymore and from a quick Google maybe a Vipre subscription would be best?

    Mike.
     
  14. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,824
    It looks like at some point the OS was reinstalled so I don't think there's any further action required with regards to the verification of the operating system.
     
  15. wosya

    wosya

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    I have been seeing what appears to be XP lockup when either trying to manage Security Essentials om a number of PC's that I support. What it looks like to me is that MS provided an update to move on past their warning of XP not being supported by Security Essentials and it is stuck somewhere. If you try to update it manually I got a lockup for sure. The only way out is to power off the PC and restart and then you see a black screen after the Microsoft Windows loading screen, and you think your PC is hooped, but if you leave it on for 10 minutes or so it revives itself, Security Essentials is happy and can be updated. (Microsoft has stated that Security Essentials will be updated for a while for XP with no definite date to cut off that support yet so it is still functional if you don't want to find another tool just yet).
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1124205

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice