Solved: Music CD's I burn won't play in my CD Player

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

clearcomms82

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
87
I've been burning CD's for some years, so I expect that from time to time a CD won't play in one CD player, but is fine in another.

My own discs have always played in the CD-player in my car, though - until recently. Not any more.

I used to use Roxio Easy Media Creator 9, but switched to CDBurnerXP to see if that would make any difference. It didn't, though I love the software.

I also checked for updates, and found I could update the firmware for my Toshiba CD/DVD drives. But the updates didn't make any difference.

Can anyone suggest where I might look next for a solution to the problem?


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: Intel Pentium III Xeon processor, x86 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 6
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 3068 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT, 256 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 305234 MB, Free - 90590 MB; D: Total - 715394 MB, Free - 449903 MB;
Motherboard: Intel Corporation, DG43GT
Antivirus: Norton 360 Premier Edition, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,967
Have you tried playing a previously burned CD that you know worked in the car player at one time?

Does a recently burned CD work in another player and/or play OK on the computer?
 

clearcomms82

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
87
Should have said that previously burnt CD's still play perfectly, so it isn't the CD player that has changed.

The recent CD's play on my computer and on my wife's laptop, and I have played a recently burnt DVD on my home DVD player.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,967
Are you using a different brand or a new package of the same brand of blank discs? Some players seem to be sensitive to the media used to create the disc.

Would it be possible to create a music CD on your wife's laptop using a blank disc from the same package as the ones having problems on your computer? If it works in the car, we could eliminate the blank discs as possibly being the source of the problem.
 

clearcomms82

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
87
The discs are from the same batch that worked OK.

I burnt a disc on my wife's laptop - a good suggestion, that - and it works fine in the car.

So it isn't the discs. I burnt the good CD with the WMP installation on her machine - not sure what that tells us!

The search continues!
 

clearcomms82

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
87
Just checked a couple more things. I have two identical Toshiba optical drives on my PC. I've burnt discs on both, and the problem is the same with both drives; both have the latest firmware update installed (the problem predates that installation).
This says to me that it most unlikely to be a hardware problem, since both drives would have to be affected in the same way at much the same time.

Hmm.
 

clearcomms82

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
87
Well now that was fun - but I think I have solved the problem, and it was actually very simple.

I cleaned the lenses on the optical drives!

The computer lives in a room where a wood-burning stove operates all winter, and of course they proiduce very fine dust. The computer is switched on most days, and turned off at night - so it cools and will tend to suck in dust.

My son - smart guy - suggested that cleaning might work, as he had heard of drives burning data discs OK but failing with Audio discs when the lens was dirty.

The first clean had no effect, so I ran the cleaning disc three more times and then burnt a disc which plays perfectly in the car CD player.

Mind you, I couldnt eject it, so I'm out there with a paper clip shortly!

Anyway problem solved, and one to remember, as it's an odd problem.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top