1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: My computer just started lagging

Discussion in 'Games' started by Ideophobe, Aug 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ideophobe

    Ideophobe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    about 3 weeks ago a game i have played for years on the same computer started lagging (starcraft 2)
    I initially thought it could be some change in the game but then i noticed that i'm also experiencing much slower download times and streaming cant seem to keep up. also same sites/settings that have been used forever

    So i tried a couple different games that fit within my system requirements and those seem to lag as well
    Downloaded SuperAntiSpyware free version as i'm broke, and that got rid of some 600 threats but to no avail.

    I'm stuck and really need some help here idk what i'll do if i cant stomp the zerglings anymore

    Copied from dxdiag:

    Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.120503-2030)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Sony Corporation
    System Model: VPCEE21FX
    BIOS: Default System BIOS
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II P320 Dual-Core Processor (2 CPUs), ~2.1GHz
    Memory: 3072MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 2810MB RAM
    Page File: 2409MB used, 3210MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
    System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
    DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode
     
  2. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
  3. Ideophobe

    Ideophobe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II P320 Dual-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 6 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2810 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 296448 MB, Free - 56113 MB;
    Motherboard: Sony Corporation, VAIO
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials Prerelease, Updated and Enabled


    pretty much the same i guess but ifit makes it easier i'll do anything
    also it's a notebook but u prolly already knew that
     
  4. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    I would also use malwarebytes https://store.malwarebytes.org/342/purl-regG. It may pick up some things that MSE and Superantispyware didn't.
    Go to your start menu type msconfig and hit enter. On the General Tab select Diagnostic Startup. Then restart your computer. See if it is lagging, if not start adding things back in a little at a time.
    By adding things back in I mean in your Startup Tab and Services Tab. You will have to reboot each time you add something. It's a long process but you may find what is slowing your computer down.
     
  5. Ideophobe

    Ideophobe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    so i got malwarebytes as well and then it started lagging even worse then i realised that these are processes 3 anti spy type programs running while i'm trying to play a game is too much ended them and now solved

    thanks
     
  6. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    Malwarebytes runs when you start it manually.
    Superantispyware should only run when you start it manually. If the icon is showing in the bottom right hand corner of your screen go to msconfig and uncheck it in startup.
     
  7. Ideophobe

    Ideophobe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    ya they have real time protection as well
    see processes
     
  8. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    You marked this solved is everything running OK now?
     
  9. Ideophobe

    Ideophobe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    not really but its better i say **** it this computer is totally out of date anyways. sick of messing around trying to clock it up just to play with minimal graphic settings when for only 600 bucks i can pick up a nice acer or asus that benchmarks 4 times as high on both processor and gfx with double the memory. so, solved thanks though i can at least play 1v1s with the antispies i got from this forum for a week or so until i pick up a new one these spanish pcs arepretty cheap i might look into one. having a backup porn computer will be nice
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064955

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice