1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: My computers wont talk to each other

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Numbat, Nov 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Numbat

    Numbat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Small network problem on a Windows XP computer.

    Looking at Network Connections, I have two connections
    Local Area Connection 6 - disconnected.......this is a wireless connection but I am not using it.
    Local Area Connection 4 - connected ..........this is a wired LAN connection which I would like to be able to use.

    Looking at My Network Places
    I see all local shared folders but I don't see the remote computer folders.

    Looking at View Workgroup Places
    I only see Local computer but NO remote computer

    If I use the Network Setup Wizard
    in connections I see only Local Area Connection 6 (the wireless connection)
    i.e. NO Local Area 4 (which is the one I want to see).

    How do I get the computer to recognize the existence of Local Area Connection 4?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Turn off any firewalls for debugging. If the firewall is the problem, you'll have to configure it to allow access to "trusted zone" addresses. Note that some firewalls must be completely uninstalled to stop them from affecting your networking.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    PING each remote computer by IP address, and if successful, PING by name. Open a command prompt as described above and type.

    PING <ip address>
    or
    PING <computer name>

    Where:
    <ip address> - is the x.x.x.x IP address
    <computer name> - is the computer name

    A failure to PING is almost always a firewall configuration issue. Any failure to PING needs to be corrected before you go any farther.

    Note: You can obtain the IP address and computer name of a computer by opening a command prompt (DOS window) and typing IPCONFIG /ALL. This should work for any Windows version. The IPCONFIG /ALL display will provide a wealth of useful information for debugging your network connection.

    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Windows Zero Configuration (wireless configurations)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic.

    All computers should be in the same workgroup for computer browsing to function properly. File & Print Sharing has to be enabled on any computer you wish to share files or printers from. You also need to actually share the resource in question from My Computer, right click on the drive/printer/folder, and select sharing.

    If you encounter difficulties accessing computers that are visible in Network Neighborhood, make sure the computer being accessed has an account with the same name/password as the system connecting to it uses to login.

    While the default NetBIOS setting is correct for normal network configurations, it's possible for it to be altered, and it costs nothing to make sure it's correct. NETBIOS over TCP/IP must be enabled for normal network browsing.
     
  3. Numbat

    Numbat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Thanks for the reply.

    No firewalls. I was switching them off but after reading your comment I removed them completely although with no improvement to the problem.

    No ping from either computer. I can ping the local computer but it just times out when I attempt the same thing with the remote.

    Ipconfig/all just tells me the local computer is connected (no other computer). However, I do note it tells me that DHCP is not running.

    Services are as per your note. Some I had to re-configure to use Automatic (was set to manual) but this didn't seem to help.

    TC-IP addresses are set to 192.168.1.1 and 192.168.1.2. Subnet for both is 255.255.255.0. Netbios is set to the default setting.


    Odd that they don't ping. After all, they do report connected so how do they know?

    Should DNS be configured? The Ipconfig reports a blank for this.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,176
    First Name:
    Terry
    To what are the computers connected? Are they able to communicate with whatever that is?
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    For each computer, please do this.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    Note that there is a space before the -n or the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the - or / in the following commands.

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  6. Numbat

    Numbat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Ok, here it is. However, the computers are now talking to each other. I have no idea what started them communicating. I doubt it was anything I did.


    N.B. -->Main computer<--



    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    E:\Documents and Settings\Graeme>nbtstat -n

    Graemes Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.1] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    GRAEMESTOWER <00> UNIQUE Registered
    GRAEMESTOWER <20> UNIQUE Registered
    GRAEMESNET <00> GROUP Registered
    GRAEMESNET <1E> GROUP Registered
    GRAEMESNET <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    E:\Documents and Settings\Graeme>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : GraemesTower
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Graemes Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : A0-00-00-04-CC-61
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    E:\Documents and Settings\Graeme>


    N.B.-->Slave computer<--

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>nbtstat -n

    Local Area Connection 6:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    Local Area Connection 4:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.3] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    GRAEMESEEE <00> UNIQUE Registered
    GRAEMESNET <00> GROUP Registered
    GRAEMESEEE <20> UNIQUE Registered
    GRAEMESNET <1E> GROUP Registered

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : GraemesEee
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros L2 Fast Ethernet 10/100 Base
    -T Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-8C-D3-5D-32

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : DM9601 USB To Fast Ethernet Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-60-6E-10-38-09
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    As you say, they're now talking. :D


    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  8. Numbat

    Numbat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Well, I don't know what was the cure but it now appears to be working. I have gone a whole day and they have had no problems connecting at any time.

    Thinking back, one thing I did do that seemed to do something about the time they started working. I was told to try.."netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt" on another forum. Not sure if that is significant at all.

    I think I will mark this solved at this stage. If I have any further problems I will ask another question. Thanks for all your help.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That is significant, that's part of the TCP/IP stack reset.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/766009

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice