1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: My Dell Inpiron (Vista) suddenly can't connect to my wireless network?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jokowai, Apr 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jokowai

    jokowai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Hello everyone!
    So yesterday, my laptop simply decided to stop connecting to my wireless network. I'm at a loss as to why and what to do. All other devices in my house are getting a perfect signal from the network but my computer either can't find it, or only has 1 green bar and says it cannot connect. I've tried a system restore, I've tried to troubleshoot on my computer and can't figure it out. The weird thing is it is picking up other wireless signals fine (like my neighbors, ect) but just not my home one. Again, it was working one minute, then simply stopped working and hasn't been able to connect at all.
    Help!

    Josh
     
  2. jokowai

    jokowai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Also, to clarify, my WLAN seems to be working fine (it can pick up and connect to other networks), and I have an Inspiron, not an Inpiron (duh pants me!).

    I also cannot run ipconfig/release because I get 'media disconnected' message.
     
  3. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Welcome to TSG:
    Can we see two things ?
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

    And :
    Wifi test exe. Hint from Johnwill

    Download and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspecto from
    www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    on the problem machine. Post a screen shot of the main screen here.



    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button
    to upload it here.

    Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.

    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_...g_a_Screenshot
    Any error msgs when trying to connect ?
     
  4. jokowai

    jokowai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    hi pedroguy, thanks for the reply. here is the ipconfig:
    p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: "Times New Roman"; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; } Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Josh>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Josh-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-69-61-D7-09
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
    Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-9B-E3-CB-25
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{69F50FF1-5F94-4715-B34E-F49857875
    02E}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Josh>

    I'm a bit confused as to how to download xirrus wi-fi inspecto if I can't connect to the internet though. any thoughts?
     
  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Take a look at device manager :
    Let’s take a look at the status of the network adapters

    Device manager:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.
    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
    4. should be enabled and working properly.
    5. If error code,what is it ?

    It would be best if you could post a screen shot of Device Manager with the Network adapters and Other devices sections expanded.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.

    And just to clarify,when you display available networks,your wireless card can "see" surrounding nets ?
    Also,let's make sure that all necessary services are running :



    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser (computer browser will start when needed)
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic
    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
    __________________


    And let's eliminate the possibility of tcip stack corruption.
    Stack repair for XP and Vista.
    Courtesy of Johnwill of the Networking forum.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  6. jokowai

    jokowai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Also to clarify further, I am getting a faint to moderate signal now but Windows is saying it isn't receiving any response from the wireless router or access point (even though other devices in the house are fine).
     
  7. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    And the ipconfig still shows the state as disconnected ?
     
  8. jokowai

    jokowai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    1) Network adapters: Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN mini-card & Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (both are running fine, no yellow or red x or !)
    2) all services you mentioned are started
    3) I have already done the TCP/IP stack repair options for vista. no change :(
     
  9. jokowai

    jokowai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    and yes, ipconfig still says disconnected
     
  10. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Ok:Let's try two more things.
    First one simple:
    From a Johnwill postConfigure DHCP for Windows Vista.
    1. Click on the Start menu, and select Control Panel.
    2. Click on Network and Internet. (Skip this step if you do not see this Control Panel item.)
    3. Click on Network and Sharing Center.
    4. Click on Manage network connections.
    5. Right click on Local Area Connection and choose Properties. If Windows say it needs your permission to continue, click Continue.
    6. Select Internet Protocol Version 4(TCP/IPv4) and click Properties.
    7. Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
    8. Select Obtain DNS server address automatically.
    9. Click OK to close the TCP/IP Properties window.
    10. Click OK to close the Local Area Connection Properties window.
    11. Click Close to close the Network Connections window.
    12. Click Close to close the Control Panel window.
    13. Restart your computer.

    If no joy,then I would suggest,in device manager,uninstall wireless 1395 and re-boot.See if it will rebuild a useable entry.
     
  11. jokowai

    jokowai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    ok did the first thing, didn't work.
    Just uninstalled wireless 1395 and restarted computer (or is re-boot different? sorry i'm such a noob).
    How will i know if it will rebuilds a useable entry?
     
  12. jokowai

    jokowai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    ok, restarted the computer and having the same issues. should I try to connect to another network (like at a coffee shop which I should be able to, remember its only my home network I can't connect to) and download all the updated/appropriate drivers?

    kinda, at a loss as to what to do next?
     
  13. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Ok:The ipconfig still shows media disconnected ?
    If so,please give me the service tag ID of your Dell unit.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,657
    First Name:
    Terry
    I'm betting that you are connecting to the internet to post here. :) Yes, download with a computer that has internet access and copy the file(s) over using removable media such as CD-RW, USB flash drive, etc.

    You are also unable to get a connection by ethernet? If so then ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  15. jokowai

    jokowai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Yep, still says disconnected. My service tag is: 6LYB2H1

    And I'm posting from my wife's computer ;)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/993022

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice