1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: My Linksys router will not connect to the internet.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tyrant_Dragon300, Nov 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tyrant_Dragon300

    tyrant_Dragon300 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    I tried changing my IP address and it stopped working so i hard restarted my router and got it to go to factory default settings. It gets up to where it tries to connect to the internet and it says its not able to connect to the internet please try turning off and turning back on your modem i have done that several times and it doesn't work. Its the Wireless-g broadband router model WRT54GS
     
  2. rvalentino

    rvalentino

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Did it work before? What type of internet connection are you using?
     
  3. bkdc

    bkdc

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    489
    Power off all of your network devices, including the modem, Router,
    and computers.
    Then power on each device in the following order:
    Cable or DSL modem
    Router
    Computer
     
  4. tyrant_Dragon300

    tyrant_Dragon300 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    yes it worked before and its a zyxel p-600 series modem i got from the phone company idk if that helps at all its a regular dsl modem and i have tried what u said but i will try it again
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Make and model of the broadband modem.
    Make and model of the router.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Make/model of your computer.
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP2, Vista, etc.

    Can you connect directly to the modem?





    On any problem computer, I'd also like to see this directly from the modem, then again from the router after connecting it and restarting all the units, modem, router, computer:

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  6. tyrant_Dragon300

    tyrant_Dragon300 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Modem is a ZyXEL P-600 Series Model Number P-660R-D1

    Rotuter is a Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router With Speed Booster Model Number WRT56GS v.5

    It Is a wireless router. Has no wireless encryption.

    My Computer is an HP Pavilion 374n Running MS Windows XP SP2 with an intel Pentium 4 2.00GHz CPU, 1.2 GB of ram, and a Radeon 9250 Graphics card. The modem works fine i am using it directly to my computer.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Your "modem" is a modem/router, and it's base address is the same as the Linksys, 192.168.1.1. That being the case, you either have to configure the ZyXEL in bridge mode to eliminate the routing function, or change the base address of the Linksys to a non-conflicting address. Try changing the Linksys base address to 192.168.2.1 and see if that doesn't get you connected.
     
  8. Covenant

    Covenant

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    471
    Is your ISP by chance Sprint? (They use the 660)

    They commonly use DHCP or PPoE. I also believe that the 660 uses IP address 192.168.2.1, so this should not cause a conflict with a Linksys router using 192.168.1.1

    Reset your modem and router both, and you will be fine if you have a DHCP configuration.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  10. Covenant

    Covenant

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    471
    The 645s were 192.168.1.1, but it's VERY possible that Sprint had their 660s configured specifically to their tastes. I'd trust the manual...

    ...unless he has Sprint that is. :p
     
  11. dizzle_deasy

    dizzle_deasy

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    I never saw the IP Config output. This would tell us what address the 660 uses and thus end the discussion about who is right reading the manual or guessing.
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, I did ask for it. :D
     
  13. tyrant_Dragon300

    tyrant_Dragon300 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Modem-Computer
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LOPERJ
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-CA-49-47-3F
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.34
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 07, 2007 8:07:58 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 10, 2007 8:07:58 PM


    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>




    Modem-Router-Computer
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LOPERJ
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-CA-49-47-3F
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.34
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 07, 2007 8:07:58 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 10, 2007 8:07:58 PM


    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
     
  14. tyrant_Dragon300

    tyrant_Dragon300 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    my isp is bay springs telephone company and no thats not a mistake they are the same for some reason
     
  15. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    There's your problem. You need to change the base address of the router to something other than 192.168.1.1, I suggest perhaps 192.168.2.1 as an alternative. Then the two routers won't have an address conflict. With both base addresses the same, the router can never make a connection to that modem/router, and you don't get an Internet connection.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Linksys router
  1. Kaizerwulf
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,226
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/646492

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice