1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: My Pc says 3.00GB(1.00 GB usable)

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by DJORN, Aug 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DJORN

    DJORN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    HELP! can someone tell me how to fix this my PC reads that there is 3GB but only 1 GB usable
    I've read different post with this same issue but if I'm working 1 on 1 with someone I would get it fix. I think I've come to the right forum :)

    I've already tried cleaning the ram stick, or swapping them

    MY reasons for wanting it fix....is because i usually play games on my pc like Call of duty blackopps....but i changed my OS to windows 7 ...so the pc was cleaned out and I don't know if those game would run,now that it is saying 1GB available

    this is how it looks

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,659
    How did you obtain Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, and why hasn't it been activated?

    What's the brand name and model name and model number of your computer, and what Windows version came pre-installed in it?

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. DJORN

    DJORN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    14
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    The question still stands. How did you obtain Windows 7? We can see that it's installed. Where did you buy it, and what, exactly, did you buy?
     
  5. DJORN

    DJORN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    My pc crashed and we carried it by the technician and we paid the guys to do everything for us
    its an original version... I assure you
    it usually says 3.00 GB not..3.00 GB(1GB usable)
     
  6. swash984

    swash984

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    only sais that when I'm running something, probably means you are using 2 gb of ram and can only use 1 more. Also ram tends to die over long periods of time.
     
  7. DJORN

    DJORN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    yh but I've seen people post the same thing........and "Tech support guys helped them"
    so is there any thing i can try to fix it?.....it says 3 GB ram(1GB usable) :(
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
  9. DJORN

    DJORN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    @TerryNET I tried that already and it still didn't work :(
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    I suggest that you try a web search for "3 GB ram(1GB usable)" (w/o the quotes) and check out some of the hits. That's how I found the above thread.

    If it has never worked as expected I'm wondering if it could be incompatible RAM chips, but I don't know enough about hardware to do any more than wonder.
     
  11. DJORN

    DJORN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    ok well I'll wait for the professionals to help me.,.....thanks though
     
  12. DJORN

    DJORN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    is anyone else going to help me?
     
  13. Sare2

    Sare2

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8
  14. DJORN

    DJORN Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    at the top I said I already tried swapping the RAM about 2 times
     
  15. Sare2

    Sare2

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Well, there's more in the series of posts than just swapping RAM. Are the sticks matched? If you go into the BIOS, what are you seeing there? Anything that might be a clue?

    Sare2
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1065477