1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: my second ssd will not show up in bios or windows

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by T3tq, Aug 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. T3tq

    T3tq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    my system is a custom:
    amd fx 8150
    gskill 16gb
    amd radeon hd7770 1gb x2
    Gigabyte GA-970A-D3 -- AMD 970
    120 GB ADATA S510 SSD
    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium + Office Starter 2010

    i have another ssd that i got off my old system (OCZ vertex 2 2.5 55gb sata2), i know that having two ssd is not dollar for dollar efficient but i had an extra and got the 120 for mad cheap. the new ssd has my old operating system and all that **** on there but the new one is all loaded up too, i hooked up the second ssd, and it does not show in bios or windows but it did take an awfully long time to load up my windows, like easily 5 times more or...more(not pleased with my warding). how do i get it to show up and all that? just to clarify all i have done is hook it straight up, and this is my first time doing such, it may require aditional preparation of some sort, please any help.
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    Hi T3tq, and welcome to TSG.

    Have you checked the BIOS settings to see if you need to specifically enable the SATA port being used for the second drive?
     
  3. T3tq

    T3tq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    no i have not tried that, i dont have the manual for my MB, and i dont recall seeing an option like that, can you throw me a quick path to get there maybe?
     
  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    I found manuals for two different versions of MB here:
    http://www.gigabyte.us/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3908#manual

    Neither one shows any individual settings for enabling or disabling specific SATA ports, There is a an Integrated Peripherals BIOS setting to enable or disable all the ports at one time.

    Not sure what your problem may be. Do you know the SSD was working correctly when it was removed from the old computer?
     
  5. T3tq

    T3tq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks, i had found the periph bios you mentioned, it did not seem like the right area to me, so i left it. I have not used the computer that the ssd came from in almost 8 months, but it was definitely working then. when i plug the ssd into the power supply it does have a green indicator light. so its presumably operational, not sure ofcourse.
     
  6. RyanHall85

    RyanHall85

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    The disable SATA port was the first thing that came to mind for me as well. I would also recommend that you check to see if you have two different speed SATA ports, i.e. 2@SATA2 and 2@SATA3. Make sure your SSD is connected to the fastest SATA port available to avoid bottlenecking.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,586
  8. T3tq

    T3tq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Oh I have good news. I tried updating the bios and now I can't boot in anything but safe mode and none of the system restore options or programs are working... the only one I have not attempted is the command prompt option. Because I don't really know what command to run for this.
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,586
    Did you use the BIOS for the correct motherboard revision? Try resetting the CMOS via the jumper on the mpotherboard, location should be marked in the manual. Then verify that the SATA mode is set to the same one as before, AHCI, RAID, or IDE.

    Any luck with getting the other SSD detected?
     
  10. T3tq

    T3tq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    During This. Last issue I decided to try ti boot off the other ssd to see if it worked at all. I swapped the old ssd that wasn't. Showing into primary slot.and removed the new one completely and determined that the original Issue with the ssd not showing is probably because its donefor. So on to getting my comp back running with new ssd lol. My phone us the only thing now that works. I will try reloading the cmos.
     
  11. T3tq

    T3tq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Cmos reset did the trick thanks a whole lot. I'm not worried about the old ssd working anymore.
     
  12. T3tq

    T3tq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    I will mark as solved in a day just to make sure
     
  13. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,679
    FWIW those vertex2 drives were very problem prone and would fail without any warning. I have had 2 of them fail and one minute they were working just fine and the next pw ON not detected.
     
  14. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,586
    My Vertex drives need a motherboard BIOS update that included a firmware for the RAID controller and to be updated to the latest firmware before they worked correctly; luckily my drives had a jumper and a destructive flash that would revive the drives when they died.
     
  15. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,679
    You can sometimes "revive" a failed vertex drive by hot plugging the drive after post. This may allow you to update the drive's firmware. Do be aware that plugging in pw connectors while the system is pw ON does entail some degree of risk.

    I have done this a few times with ssd drives and never had a problem however just be aware of the potential.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1065938